SRS Newsletter
September 2012
Return to Newsletter >

SRS 2012 Spring Grant Recipients Receive Over $119,000

John M. (Jack) Flynn, MD
Research Grants Committee Chair

John M. (Jack) Flynn, MD

The 20 members of the Research Grants Committee have been hard at work identifying the best ideas and research teams to push forward spine deformity care for the future. In the spring grant cycle, SRS received 34 grant applications from six countries, requesting a total of $1,273,138.33. The total available for funding in this cycle was $119,448.

The Committee received four evidence-based medicine grant requests, seven new investigator requests, five small exploratory requests, and 18 standard investigator requests. Four teams divided up the grants, studied the applications, debated the merits of each grant, and reached consensus decisions. Four grants were funded, awarding the entire $119,448 budget.

The winners were:

  1. Small Exploratory
    1. Kathy J. Simpson, PhD. - University of Georgia
      1. Fully Funded at $9,846.00
      2. “Movement techniques used by individuals with adolescent idiopathic scoliosis (AIS) during high-effort activities and the effects of spinal fusion surgery on compensatory adaptations.”
  2. New Investigator
    1. Samer M. Adeeb,  PhD. - University of Alberta
      1. Fully Funded at $25,000.00
      2. “A novel approach to use surface topography results for assessing scoliosis”
  3. Standard Investigators
    1. Mikkel O. Andersen, MD -Lillebaelt Hospital - Denmark
      1. Partially Funded at $39,086.00
      2. “Adolescent idiopathic scoliosis in twins - a study based on the Danish Twin Registry”
    2. Michael G. Vitale, MD, MPH - Children's Hospital of NY Presbyterian
      1. Fully Funded at $45,516.00
      2. “Spine-Based vs. Rib-Based Anchors in Growth-Sparing Constructs for Young Children with Scoliosis”

At the 47th Annual Meeting and Course in Chicago, Illinois, USA,  the Research Grants Committee Lunchtime Symposium will occur on Wednesday, September 4, 2012 under the Title "Breaking News: Initial Presentations from Recent SRS Grant Winners". The one-hour program will allow six recent grant winners to show their preliminary data and get feedback from the audience.

SRS Members should be proud of the hard work that the grant reviewers have done, and their careful stewardship of precious research funds currently available in this difficult economic environment.

Committee Chair: John M. Flynn, MD Committee Members: Dilip K. Sengupta, MD; Michelle S. Caird, MD; Kota Watanabe, MD, PhD; Rajiv K. Sethi, MD; Burt Yaszay, MD; Saumyajit Basu, MD; Frederico P. Girardi, MD; Siavash Haghighi, DMV, PhD; Kirkham B. Wood, MD; Lori Dolan, PhD;  Jonathan H. Phillips, MD; Charles E. Johnston, II, MD; Michelle C. Marks, PT, MA; Jonathan E. Fuller, MD; Virginie C. Lafage, PhD; Andrew G. King, MD; Joseph H. Perra, MD; James O. Sanders, MD; Carol A. Wise, PhD.