SRS Newsletter
December 2012
Return to Newsletter >

Awards & Scholarship Committee Update

Lawrence G. Haber
Awards & Scholarship Committee Chair

Lawrence G. Haber

The Awards and Scholarship Committee has been active since the 47th Annual Meeting and Course. Recently the 2013 Travelling Fellows were selected. The applicant pool was impressive with many qualified candidates that would have been excellent representatives of our society.  The selection process was difficult, but after much consideration we chose three extremely qualified individuals: Amer Samdani, MD from Philadelphia, PA, Pennsylvania; Firoz Miyanji, MD, FRCSC, from Vancouver, BC, Canada; and Vikas Patel, MD from Denver, Colorado, USA. Together the three will travel to Europe to visit various spine centers in the fall of 2013.  They will conclude there journey at the 48th Annual Meeting and Course. We all look forward to hearing about their adventures. Shay Bess, MD from Denver, Colorado another impressive candidate, will serve as alternate. 

An exciting development within our organization is the creation of the Robert B. Winter Global Outreach Fellowship. This award is made possible by the generous donations made to the Winter Fund organized in collaboration between the SRS Administrative office and the Twin Cities Spine Center to honor the amazing career of Robert B. Winter, MD. The goal of this scholarship is to positively impact a physician from a developing country to improve care in that region. The award winner will visit a SRS member’s spine center for up to six weeks, as the budget allows, and then be followed by the surgeon from the hosting center to the award winner’s home institution to add to and enhance the educational process. We are hoping to have applications ready for the Spring 2013 awards cycle. 

On a related note, the Awards Committee continues its efforts to update all grading forms and applications. This has enabled us to more objectively and fairly assign all of our awards. In addition, we are launching an effort to get better feedback from all our award winners. 

An exciting new project for the committee is being developed in partnership with the Website Committee. We are going to develop a photo slide show on the website that depicts the experiences of our past travelling fellows. If you are a past fellow and have photos you are willing to share, please respond to our upcoming email. We hope this will be an entertaining addition to website. Matthew E. Oetgen, MD from Washington DC will be leading this effort.

Chair: Lawrence L. Haber, MD Committee Members: Stephen J. Lewis, MD, MSc, FRCSC; Youssry MK El-Hawary, MD; Suken A. Shah, MD; Charles E. Johnston, MD; Hubert Labelle, MD; Hilali H. Noordeen, FRCS; Saumyajit Basu, MD; Matthew E. Oetgen, MD; David M. Montgomery, MD; Avraam Ploumis, MD, PhD; John M. Wattenbarger, MD; Khaled Kebaish, MD; Hani Mhaidli, MD; Mohammad Mostafa Mossaad, MD.