SRS Newsletter
March 2013
Return to Newsletter >

Morbidity and Mortality Committee Update

Douglas C. Burton, MD
Morbidity and Mortality Committee Chair

Douglas C. Burton, MD

The Morbidity and Mortality (M&M) Committee has been active over the last year with the institution of the new “infection” module into the data collection website. Much work has been done on this module by past committees and 2012 was the first year that this information is collected. We now have four modules: death, visual acuity loss, neurologic deficit, and acute infection. As a reminder, the deadline for 2012 online M&M reporting is April 1, 2013.

Last year the Board of Directors agreed to fund data extraction from the M&M database for individual research. The process and guidelines for submitting a Request for Proposal (RFP) is located on the Members-Only section of the SRS website under Morbidity and Mortality (“Research for Proposal for M&M Data Research”). In an effort not to duplicate projects we have provided a list of current research. There is also a bibliography of published papers using the M&M database, which demonstrates the usefulness and value of our M&M collection process as well as to serve as a guide to future researchers as they consider studies using the M&M database.

In his report to the membership at the 47th Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois, USA, Paul A. Broadstone, MD, Past Chair, gave an excellent update of the 2011 database results.  In 2011, our compliance with submission as a society has increased to 90% (85% in 2010 and 80% in 2009).  There were 45,412 entries and the complication rates were 0.88% for all complications combined. Thank you again for all who participate in the collection process.

Chair: Douglas C. Burton, MD Committee Members: Paul A. Broadstone, MD; Yongjung J. Kim, MD; Gregory V. Hahn, MD; Annalise N. Larson, MD; William F. Lavelle, MD; Darren R. Lebl, MD; Kamran Majid, MD; Alejo Vernengo-Lezica, MD; Robert F. Heary, MD; Howard M. Place, MD; Jonathan E. Fuller, MD; Karl E. Rathjen, MD; Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD; Joseph M. Verska, MD.