SRS Newsletter
September 2013
Return to Newsletter >

Public Relations Update

Lori Karol, MD
Public Relations Committee Chair

Lori Karol, MD

Since our last update, the public relations committee has had significant activity. In April, a public service announcement poster featuring WPGA golfer Stacy Lewis was produced in conjunction with the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Nation in Motion campaign (see below). Ms. Lewis serves as a spokesperson for the SRS, has generously supported research, and is prominently featured on our website. Stacy Lewis’s story was featured on CNN News on June 6, with links to the Scoliosis Research Society included in the text.  This month, Stacy won the Women’s British Open at St. Andrews with birdies on her last two holes.

In May, professional golfer Ken Duke visited Texas Scottish Rite Hospital and participated in a photo shoot with scoliosis patients and past-president Steve Richards. This is posted on the SRS website.

On June 8, sportscaster Ken Rosenthal of Fox Sports wore a “bow tie” as part of the Bow Tie Cause program raising awareness for scoliosis and the Scoliosis Research Society on the telecast of the Boston Red Sox baseball game. He wore the tie, designed using a pattern from the original 1966 SRS logo, in honor of his daughter who underwent scoliosis surgery in 2011. The story, and more information on the Bow Tie Cause, is featured on our website and the SRS Facebook page.

June was Scoliosis Awareness Month. Electronic files of posters cosponsored by the SRS were posted and are available for download on the Scoliosis Awareness page of the SRS website. Our hospital, Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children, displayed these posters on the clinic level for the public to view.

Finally, the public relations committee would like to encourage the membership to submit patient vignettes for publication on the SRS website. Information regarding the format for patient stories and forms for release of information are available through the SRS office.  Please contact Shahree Douglas for more information.

Chair: Lori A. Karol, MD Committee Members: Andrew G. King, MD; Robert M. Bernstein, MD; Allen L. Carl, MD; Angela M. Strader, RN; Terry D. Amaral, MD; Jochen P. Son-Hing, MD, FRCSC; Erik C.B. King, MD; Clifford B. Tribus, MD