Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
An International Organization Dedicated to the Education, Research and Treatment of Spinal Deformity
Our Mission is to Foster Optimal Care for All Patients with Spinal Deformities

48th Annual Meeting & Course Award Winners

The Scoliosis Research Society would like to congratulate the following award winners from the 48th Annual Meeting & Course.

Russell A. Hibbs Awards

Each year the Hibbs Awards are given to the best Basic Science and Clinical papers presented at the SRS Annual Meeting & Course.  The top abstracts in each category are invited to submit their papers for consideration.

The Russell A. Hibbs Award for the Best Basic Science Presentation was presented to Paper #67, Induction of SHP2-Deficiency in Chondrocytes Causes Severe Scoliosis and Kyphosis Mice, by Nobuhiro Kamiya; Daniel J. Sucato, MD, MS; B. Stephens Richards, MD; Harry Kim

The winner of the Russell A. Hibbs Award for the Best Clinical Presentation was awarded to Paper #76, Prospective, Multi-Center Assessment of Acute Neurologic Complications Following Complex Adult Spinal Deformity Surgery: The Scoli-Risk-1 Trial by Lawrence G. Lenke, MD; Michael G. Fehlings, MD, PhD; Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD; Kenneth M. Cheung, MBBS(UK), FRCS(England), FHKCOS, FHKAM(Orth); Leah Y. Carreon, MD, MSc

John H. Moe Award

The John H. Moe Award is given to the best Basic Science Poster or E-Poster at the Annual Meeting & Course. This year the award was presented to Poster 222 titled Optimization of Spine Deformity Surgery Training: A National Survey of Residency and Spine Fellowship Program Directors by Alan H. Daniels, MD; J. M. DePasse, MD; Stephen T. Magill, PhD; Staci A. Fischer, MD; Christopher P. Ames, MD; Robert A. Hart, MD

Louis A. Goldstein Award

The Goldstein Award is given to the best Clinical Poster or E-Poster at the Annual Meeting & Course. The winner of the Louis A. Goldstein Award was Poster 253, Using the Scoliosis Research Society 2011 M&M Database to Determine Significant Difference in Case Volume and Membership Status to Occurrence of Complications, by Paul A. Broadstone, MD; Douglas C. Burton, MD; Michael J. Goytan, MD; Justin S. Smith, MD, PhD; Theodore J. Choma, MD; Amer F. Samdani, MD; Yongjung J. Kim, MD; Robert F. Heary, MD; Howard M. Place, MD; Jonathan E. Fuller, MD; Karl E. Rathjen, MD; John R. Dimar, MD

Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award

The Blount Humanitarian Award is given to an individual who has provided outstanding service to those with spinal deformities, through their generous actions and contributions, with a passion to serve to larger social and professional goals. This year the Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award was given to Bettye A. Wright, PA, RN.

Bettye Wright was born in Platte City, Missouri, or as Marc Asher, MD affectionately says, she is a “Missouri Mule.” Ms. Wright is the oldest of two children, mother of three (Michael, Michelle and Monique), grandmother to five and a great-grandmother to one. In addition to her small immediate family, Ms. Wright has numerous adopted children and family members in Ghana.

Being diagnosed with idiopathic scoliosis as an adolescent, Ms. Wright always had a desire to work with teens with the same
diagnosis. As a physician’s assistant (PA) at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Michigan in the early 1980s, this desire was realized when she was assigned to work with Alvin Crawford, MD and Chuck Schock, MD . Ms. Wright worked as Dr. Crawford’s PA until he relocated to Cincinnati, although they continued to work together. After Dr. Crawford’s departure, Ms. Wright began working with Dale Hoekstra, MD when he assumed the Directorship of Henry Ford’s spine program. The two worked together for 30 years.

After retiring in 2007, Ms. Wright joined Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD in his Manhattan office in addition to continuing to
volunteer with the Foundation of Orthopedics and Complex Spine (FOCOS) mission trips to Ghana. This transition was after years of mission trips to Ghana including the very first mission trip when it was just the two of them.

According to Ms. Wright, she never felt that the small role she played in FOCOS was significant and is simply honored to be a part of the FOCOS journey, and a fabulous journey it has been. During her 15-year involvement, she truly feels she has received far more than she has given.

Lifetime Achievement Awards

The Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented to senior members of the Scoliosis Research Society with a distinguished history of dedicated service and commitment to the SRS and the field of spinal deformity research and care. This year, the Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Ian A.F. Stokes, PhD and George H. Thompson. The 2013 Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented on Thursday, September 19.

Ian A.F. Stokes, PhD

After graduating in Engineering Science from Cambridge University in 1971, Ian Stokes worked on the biomechanics of the forefoot affected by diabetic neuropathy and hallux valgus for his PhD in 1975. He then studied spinal motion and thoracic shape in patients with spinal deformity using biplanar X-ray and stereo-photogrammetric methods and moved to the University
of Vermont in 1980. Tackling the question “If spinalbiomechanics is the answer, then what is the question?” led him to identify scoliosis progression (not etiology) as offering opportunities to make useful contributions. The spine scoliosis of critical magnitude (independent of initiating causes) may grow asymmetrically during rapid skeletal growth, apparently because bone growth and disc wedging are sensitive to applied forces. The research involved clinical studies and analyses of paraspinal muscle activation, as well as research into the biomechanics of the growth plate and intervertebral disc with extensive use of animal models.

George H. Thompson, MD

George H. Thompson, MD is Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Pediatrics at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio and the Director of Pediatric Orthopaedics at Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital, University Hospitals Case Medical Center (1987-present).

He graduated from Oklahoma State University (BS in Physiology) in 1966 and the University of Oklahoma School of Medicine in 1970. He did a surgical internship and orthopaedic surgery residency at the University of California Los Angeles Medical Center (1970-1972, 1974-1977) followed by a fellowship in pediatric orthopaedics at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Ontario (1978) under the supervision of Robert B. Salter, MD , FRCS(C). He then joined the faculty at Case Western Reserve University (1979-present).

He is currently Vice-Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, the Co-Chair of the Salter Society; Co-Editor of the Journal of Pediatric Orthopaedics; President/ CEO of the SICOT Foundation; and member of the Medical Advisory Board, Shriner’s Hospital for Children. He is the Past-President of the Ohio Orthopaedic Society (1997-1999), Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America [POSNA] (2002-2003), and Scoliosis Research Society [SRS] (2006-2007; 2007-2008). He is the immediate Past-Deputy Editor of Pediatric Orthopaedics for the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery American (2003-2005).

He has received numerous honors and awards, most notably the American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) North American
Traveling Fellowship (1979), an endowed chair from his institution (2006), the PO SNA Arthur H. Huene Award (2008) and the 2013 SRS Lifetime Achievement Award.

Major interests include spinal deformities, trauma, hip abnormalities, and foot deformities. He has published 153 peer-reviewed articles, 86 chapters in textbooks and edited four textbooks. He has presented more than 700 regional, national and international lectures.

Congratulations again to all of our award winners!

Latest News