Back To Top
MENU
Scoliosis Research Society
SRS: Scoliosis Research Society

Scoliosis Research Society

مخصصة ل رعاية مثلى لل مرضى الذين يعانون من تشوه في العمود الفقري

Introduction to Scoliosis

A Parent's First Questions About Scoliosis
يوجد العديد من أنواع الجنف المعروفة والتي تصيب الأطفال ولعل اهمها هو الجنف الذاتي او غير معروف السبب. ويعتبر هذا النوع هو الاكثر انتشارا بين الاطفال. وينتشر الجنف الذاتي بين الاطفال الصغار ولكن اغلب الحالات تنتشر في الاطفال من سن العاشرة وحتى تمام نموهم.

ما الفرق بين الجنف ذاتي المراضة وسائر الانواع الأخرى؟

الجنف ذاتي المراضة
يعني المصطلح (ذاتي المراضة) أن سببه غير معروف. وعلى الرغم من أننا لا نعرف سبب المرض في أغلب الحالات ( 80 – 85%) فإننا نعلم أن المرض يميل للانتشار في العائلات. لا يعتبر الجنف مرضا معديا كما بالنسبة للبرد. وما من شئ كان بمقدورك فعله لمنع حدوثه أو الوقاية منه.

الجنف الخلقي
يعني مصطلح (خلقي) أنك تولد والمشكلة موجودة معك. وتبدأ مشكلة الجنف الخلقي عند تكون العمود الفقري قبل الميلاد.حيث لا يتكون جزء من فقرة بالكامل أو يمكن كذلك ألا تتكون أجزاء من مجموعة فقرات بصورة كاملة بالإضافة إلى احتمالية عدم الانفصال المناسب لللفقرات. ويمكن أن يكون هذا النوع من الجنف مصحوبا بمشاكل صحية اخرى بالإضافة إلى مشاكل بالكلى والقلب.

الجنف العصبي العضلي
إن أي مشكلة طبية تؤثر على الأعصاب والعضلات يمكنها أن تؤدي إلى حدوث الجنف. ويعتبر هذا نتيجة عدم التوازن العضلي و/ أو الضعف. إن من أشهر المشكلات العصبية العضلية التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى الجنف هي الشلل الدماغي ومرض العضلات الحثلي وإصابة الحبل الشوكي.

A) مراهقة تعاني من الجنف الصدري الذاتي المراضة على الجانب الأيمن
B) يظهر بروز الصدر لديها بوضوح عند الميل للأمام
C) وتوضح الأشعة السينية الاعوجاج الصدري إلى اليمين.
Courtesy of Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children.

ما مدى خطورة جنف المراهقين؟
لا يعتبر جنف المراهقين مرضا مهددا للحياة ولا تتسبب معظم الاعوجاجات في مشكلات جسيمة. ولكن إذا كان حجم الاعوجاج كبيرا فيمكنه مع ذلك أن يؤثر على النمو.

إذا أصبح الاعوجاج كبيرا بالفعل فيمكنه أن يتسبب في مشكلات بالرئتين والقلب. ويمكن كذلك للاعوجاجات الكبيرة جدا أن تضغط على جذور الأعصاب أو الحبل الشوكي نفسه مما قد يؤدي إلى الشلل. ويعتبر هذا الأمر نادرا جدا. إن العلاج السليم سوف يمنع تطور سوء الاعوجاج إلى درجات عنيفة.

هل يتسبب الجنف في ألم بالظهر؟
لا يجب أن يتسبب جنف المراهقين في حدوث ألم بالظهر على الرغم من أن الاعوجاجات الكبيرة يمكنها أن تتسبب في تعب أحيانا. إذا كان ألم الظهر شديدا أو مصحوبا بضعف للأطراف وتنميلة يمكنك الاتصال بطبيبك.

هل يمكن لاعوجاجات العمود الفقري أن تتحسن من تلقاء نفسها؟
لا تستقيم اعوجاجات الجنف الذاتي من تلقاء نفسها وغالبية الاطفال لديهم اعوجاجات بسيطة لا تحتاج إلى علاج. في هذه الحالات ينمو الطفل ويعيش حياة طبيعية – ولكن لا تختفي هذه الاعوجاجات البسيطة أبدا.

إذا لم يتم علاج الاعوجاجات الكبيرة فإن أفضل ما يمكن أن تتمناه هو عدم تحولها إلى صورة أسوأ. ويعتمد هذا على ما تبقى من معدل للنمو لدى طفلك. يمكن للاعوجاجات لدى الأطفال الذين أكملوا مراحل نموهم أن تتوقف عن النمو. وإذا ظل العمود الفقري لطفلك بالنمو فإنه من المحتمل أن تسوء الحالة.

ما الذي يمكنني فعله لمنع الجنف من أن تسوء حالته؟
إن العلاجات الوحيدة التي وجد أن بإمكانها التأثير على الجنف الذاتي هي الأحزمة والجراحة. ولا يوجد دليل على أن العلاج الطبيعي أو الإثارة الكهربية أوالرعاية اليدوية أو أي خيار علاجي أخر له تأثير واضح على إعوجاجات الجنف.

هل من الاّمن على طفلي ممارسة الرياضة والمشاركة فيها؟
يمكن للأطفال الذين يعانون من الجنف أن يشاركوا في أي نوع من أنواع الرياضة طالما لا يصاحب ذلك أي ألم بالظهر أثناء اللعب. ويعتبر من الجيد أن يظل الأطفال بحالة صحية جيدة مع التمارين.

هل سيكون طفلي قادرا على العيش حياة طبيعية؟
نعم. إن الأطفال الذين يعانون من اعوجاجات لا تحتاج إلى الجراحة يكونون قادرين عل المشاركة في نفس النشاطات التي يشارك فيها الأطفال الغير مصابين بالجنف. ونادرا ما يكون هناك أي معوقات بالنسبة لأي نشاطات.

وينطبق نفس الشئ عادة على الأشخاص الذين خضعوا لجراحة تصحيح الجنف. ويمكن ان يتقلدوا نفس الوظائف كما بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين لم يخضعوا لجراحة تصحيح الجنف.ويمكنهم عادة القيام بنفس الرياضة التي كانوا يقومون بها قبل الجراحة. ومع ذلك يجب عليهم التواصل مع الأطباء قبل بدأ أي نشاط جديد (وظيفة أو رياضة) للتاكد من انه ليس لديهم موانع مطلق.

أسئلة شائعة تتعلق بمسببات الجنف

هل يعتبر الجنف مرضا منتشرا في العائلات؟
نعم فحوالي 30 بالمائة من مرضى الجنف غير محدد السبب لدي المراهقين لهم تاريخ مرضي عائلي دال على ذلك.وحاليا يوجد مزيد من الأبحاث المتعلقة لتقصي العوامل الوراثية والجينية المسببة لذلك.

إذا كنت أعاني من الجنف فهل يعني ذلك ان أطفالي سيكون لهم نصيبا من المرض؟
طبقا لأحدث الابحاث العلمية فإن من بين كل ثلاثة اطفال معروف إصابة والديهم بالجنف فإن واحدا سوف يصاب به. ويعتبر الجنف مرض شبه وراثي. ولا يعرف الأطباء بالضبط أي نوع من الجينات هذا الذي يمكنه أن يتسبب في هذا المرض.

ويوجد اختبار وراثي متعلق باحتمالية وجود الجنف غير محدد السبب على جينات الشخص ولكن يعتبر هذا الفحص خاصا ببعض العرقيات. ويستخدم هذا الفحص للتنبؤ باحتمالية سوء حالة مريض يعاني بالفعل من الجنف وما إذا كان هذا المريض بحاجة للحزام أو إجراء جراحة تدخلية لعلاجه. ولا يعلم الاطباء حتى الان ما إذا كان يمكن استخدام هذا الفحص للتنبؤ باحتمالية توريث الجنف لواحد من الأبناء من عدمه.

هل تتسبب الوضعية الخاطئة لطفلي في حدوث الجنف؟
لا تتسبب الوضعية الخاطئة في حدوث الجنف. وقد يكون الجنف هو السبب في اتخاذ الطفل لهذه الوضعية الخاطئة. وعلى الاخص إذا كان/ كانت من هواة الميل إلى أحد الجانبين

هل فرق طول الطرفين يمكن ان يسبب أو يزيد من سوء الانحناء؟
لا يتسبب فارق الطول بين الطرفين في زيادة الجنف. ومع ذلك فإن الفروق الكبيرة بين الطرفين يمكنها أن تتسبب في جعل الجنف غير معلوم السبب يبدو كما لو كان أسوأ. في هذه الظروف غير الشائعة يمكن النصح باستخدام رافع حذاء.

تعتبر روافع الحذاء ذات فائدة عند القيام بعمل اشعة أكس لتصحيح أي نوع من عدم توازن الجذع الذي يحتمل أن يكون على علاقة بفارق في الطول بين الساقين.

هل تتسبب الرياضة أو حمل الحقائب الثقيلة في حدوث الجنف
لا تتسبب الرياضة او حمل الحقائب الثقيلة في حدوث الجنف أو جعل منحناه أسوأ. ومع ذلك فإنه يمكن أن يكون هناك علاقة بين حمل حقائب الظهر وألم الظهر. إذا كان هناك ألم بالظهر فإنه من الضروري تخفيف الحمل. ومن الضروري أن يحمل الأطفال حقائب أخف واضعين كلا ذراعي الحقيبة على كتفيهم.

هل يعتبر الجنف متعلقا بإصابة ما؟
لا يعتبر الجنف غير معروف السبب ( الذاتي) ناتجا عن جرح أو حادث.

هل كان بمقدوري منعه؟
حيث أن أسباب الجنف من هذا النوع غير معروفة بالضبط فإنه من الصعب معرفة طرق تلافيه. إذا كانت الأسباب وراثية فإنه لا يوجد ما يمكن فعله بمجرد ولادة الطفل.

أسئلة عامة حول فحص وجود الجنف
غالبا ما يتم اكتشاف الجنف خلال المتابعة الدورية مع طبيب الأطفال.

متى يمكن ان يتم فحص الاطفال لتبين وجود الجنف بصورة مبكرة؟
يمكن فحص الأطفال في أي عمر على الرغم من أن أغلب حالات الجنف يتم اكتشافها خلال مرحلة النمو السريع للطفل ( بين العاشرة والخامسة عشر). وتنصح جمعية أبحاث الجنف بفحص البنات مرتين في سن العاشرة والثانية عشر ( المراحل الخامسة والسابعة) ويتم فحص الأولاد من سن الثانية عشر والثالثة عشر ( المراحل الثامنة والتاسعة). ويوجد الكثير من الجدل فيما يخص جدوى عمليات الفحص المدرسي.

هل أخوات الأطفال الذين يعانون من الجنف يحتاجون إلى فحص؟
حيث أن الجنف ينتشر بالعائلات فإنه من الضروري فحص الأخوات خلال أوقات فحصهم السنوي وبالأخص خلال أوقات النمو المتزايد (10 إلى 15 عام).

إن الاكتشاف المبكر يعتبر أمرا ضروريا ويمكن ان يساعد الأباء في ذلك. يمكنك النظر على ظهر طفلك خلال لبسه لبدلة السباحة. إذا رأيت احد الكتفين أعلى من الاخر أو كانت أحد الضلوع تبرز أكثر من نظيرها قم بمكالمة طبيب الأطفال.

متى يصبح فحص الطفل المولود لأبوين يعاني أحدهما من الجنف أمرا ضروريا؟
لابد من فحص الأطفال المولودين لوالد يعاني من الجنف في ميعاد الفحص السنوي الخاص بهم. وبالأخص خلال مراحل تسارع النمو (من سن 10 وحتى 15).

لماذا لا نلاحظها في وقت مبكر اكثر؟
في بعض الحالات لا تظهر الانحناءات حتى سنوات المراهقة الاولى.وغالبا ما تهرب الانحناءات الصغيرة عن عين الملاحظ حتى يبلغ الطفل مراحل النمو المتسارع خلال المراهقة.ولأن الجنف نادرا ما يكون مؤلما يمكن ألا يلاحظ الأطفال أو الأباء وجوده حتى يكون هناك بعض العلامات الواضحة.

الأضافة لذلك فإن المراهقين يميلون إلى أن يكونوا غير معبرين بقوة. حيث ينتبه عدد من الإناث إلى ذلك ويميلون للبس ملابس تخفي المرض. ولا تظهر الانحناءات بقوة إلى عندما يتجهون للبس ملابس أكثر تجسيما مثل ملابس السباحة والتيشيرتات.

بالإضافة إلى أن المراهقين قد لا يزوروا طبيب الأطفال بانتظام.

لما لا يرى طبيب الأطفال الخاص المشكلة مبكرا؟
يمكن لانحناءات الجنف أن تصبح أكثر سوءا على نحو سريع وبالأخص خلال مرحلة ما قبل المراهقة. ويمكن ألا يكون طبيب الاطفال الخاص بك قد لاحظ طفلك خلال تلك المرحلة.

أسئلة عامة تتعلق بأبحاث الجنف

ما اخر ابحاث الجنف التي يتم إجراءها حاليا؟
في الوقت الحاضر يركز البحث بصفة أساسية على التعرف على سبب الجنف غير معروف السبب.

هناك العديد من العوامل التي تساهم في خلق انحناء العمود الفقري. إن العوامل الأساسية التي يتم دراستها حاليا هي العوامل الوراثية ( الوراثة) ومشكلات الأنسجة الطرية ( العظم والعضلات والأربطة والغضاريف) ومشكلات نمو العمود الفقري ومشكلات الجهاز العصبي المركزي.

هل يولد الاطفال بمرض الجنف غير محدد السبب؟
يمكن أن يكون الأطفال الذين يعانون من جنف المراهقين غير محدد السبب أن يكونوا قد ولدوا بالدلائل الوراثية التي تسبب الجنف. ولكن الجينات التي تحمل هذه الدلائل غير معروفة بالضبط ويعمل الباحثون حاليا على محاولة التعرف على هذه الجينات.

هل يوجد اختبار للجينات؟
نعم يوجد اختبار للجينات ليساعد على تحديد ما إذا كان الانحناء سيصبح أسوأ. ومع ذلك فإنه يتم إجراء هذا الاختبار حاليا على فئة محددة من الاطفال. وهؤلاء الفئة هم البنات القوقازيات بين سن التاسعة والثالثة عشر بانجناءات أكبر من 10 وأقل من 25 درجة. ويعمل الباحثون على تحسين الاختبار ليشمل جميع الفئات العرقية وجميع الفئات العمرية للأطفال.

Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
An International Organization Dedicated to the Education, Research and Treatment of Spinal Deformity
Our Mission is to Foster Optimal Care for All Patients with Spinal Deformities
Facebook

Introduction to Scoliosis

A Parent's First Questions About Scoliosis
There are several different types of scoliosis that affect children. By far, the most common type of scoliosis is "idiopathic," which means the exact cause is not known. Idiopathic scoliosis occurs in toddlers and young children, but the majority of cases occur from age 10 to the time a child is fully grown.

What is the difference between idiopathic scoliosis and other types of scoliosis?

Idiopathic scoliosis.
The term "idiopathic" means unknown cause. Although we do not know for sure what causes the majority of scoliosis cases (80% to 85%), we do know it tends to run in families. Scoliosis is not a disease that is caught from someone else, like a cold. There is nothing you could have done to prevent it.

Congenital scoliosis
The term "congenital" means that you are born with the condition. Congenital scoliosis starts as the spine forms before birth. Part of one vertebra (or more) does not form completely, or the vertebrae do not separate properly. This type of scoliosis can be associated with other health issues, as well as heart and kidney problems.

Neuromuscular scoliosis
Any medical condition that affects the nerves and muscles can lead to scoliosis. This is most commonly due to muscle imbalance and/or weakness. Common neuromuscular conditions that can lead to scoliosis include cerebral palsy, muscular dystrophy, and spinal cord injury.

A) An adolescent with thoracic idiopathic scoliosis on the right side.
B) Her rib prominence is more obvious when bending forward.
C) This x-ray of her spine clearly shows the right thoracic curve.
Courtesy of Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children.

How serious is adolescent scoliosis?
Adolescent scoliosis is not life threatening, and most curves do not cause serious problems. If a curve is large, however, it may affect growth.

If the curve gets really large, it can cause heart and lung problems. A very severe curve can also compress nerve roots or the spinal cord, which can result in paralysis. This is extremely rare. Proper treatment will prevent the curve from progressing to such a severe degree.

Does scoliosis cause back pain?
Adolescent scoliosis should not cause back pain, although larger curves may cause occasional discomfort.

If the back pain is severe or is associated with weakness of the limbs or numbness, call your doctor.

Can scoliosis curves get better on their own?
Idiopathic scoliosis curves do not straighten out on their own. Many children have slight curves that do not need treatment. In these cases, the children grow up to lead normal lives - but their small curves never go away.

If larger curves are not treated, the best you can hope for is that they will not get worse. This depends on how much growing your child has left to do. Curves in children who are almost full-grown may stop getting worse. If your child's spine is still growing, it is more likely that the curves will worsen.

What can I do to prevent my scoliosis from getting worse?
The only treatments that have been shown to affect idiopathic scoliosis are bracing and surgery. There is no evidence in the current medical literature that physical therapy, electrical stimulation, chiropractic care, or other options have any impact on scoliosis curves.

Is it safe for my child to exercise and participate in sports?
Children with idiopathic scoliosis can participate in any sport as long as they have no backache associated with participation. It is always a good idea for children to stay physically fit with exercise.

Will my child be able to live a normal life?
Yes. People who have curves that do not require surgery are able to participate in the same activities and sports as people without scoliosis. There are rarely restrictions on any of their activities.

The same usually applies to people who have had surgery for scoliosis. They can have the same jobs as people who have not had scoliosis surgery. They can usually do the same sports as before surgery. They should, however, contact their doctors before starting new activities (jobs or sports) to make sure they have no specific restrictions.

FAQs About What Causes Scoliosis

Does scoliosis run in families?
Yes, approximately 30% of adolescent idiopathic scoliosis (AIS) patients have a family history of scoliosis. There is currently a lot of research being done to investigate this genetic or hereditary link.

If I have scoliosis, will my children have it?
According to recent research, about one in three children whose parents have scoliosis will develop scoliosis. Scoliosis is considered a partially genetic condition. Doctors do not know exactly what gene can cause it.

A genetic test for idiopathic scoliosis does exist, but it is specific to certain ethnicities. This test is used to predict whether or not a patient's scoliosis is likely to get worse and need a brace or surgery. Doctors do not yet know if the test can be used to predict the likelihood of passing on scoliosis to one's children.

Does my child's bad posture cause the scoliosis?
No, bad posture does not cause scoliosis. The scoliosis may be the reason for your child's bad posture, especially if he or she tends to lean to one side.

Does a leg length difference cause or worsen the curve?
Leg length difference does not cause scoliosis. A large leg length difference can, however, make idiopathic scoliosis appear worse. In this uncommon circumstance, a shoe lift may be recommended.

Shoe lifts are also helpful when taking x-rays to correct any trunk imbalance that might be related to a difference in leg lengths.

Do sports activities or heavy book bags cause scoliosis?
Sports activities or heavy backpacks do not cause scoliosis or make a curve worse. Heavy backpacks can be related to back pain, however. If back pain is present, it is advisable to lighten the load. Kids should carry lighter backpacks with the straps over both shoulders.

Is scoliosis related to an injury?
Idiopathic scoliosis is not caused by an injury or trauma.

Could I have prevented it?
Because the causes of idiopathic scoliosis are not known exactly, it is hard to determine how to prevent it. If the causes are genetic, then there really is not much to do once a baby is conceived.

Common Questions About Screening for Scoliosis
Scoliosis is often first detected during a regular check-up with the pediatrician.

How early should children be screened for scoliosis?
Children can be screened at any age, although idiopathic scoliosis is more commonly discovered during a child's growth spurt (10 to 15 years old). The Scoliosis Research Society recommends that girls be screened twice, at 10 and 12 years of age (grades 5 and 7), and boys once at 12 or 13 years of age (grades 8 or 9). A great deal of controversy exists as to the benefits of school screening.

Do siblings of children with scoliosis need to be checked?
Because scoliosis tends to run in families, it is good to have siblings checked at their yearly physical examinations, especially during their growth spurts (10 to 15 years old).

Early detection is important and parents can help. Look at your child's back with a bathing suit on. If you see one shoulder appearing higher than the other, or one side of the ribcage sticking out more than the other side, call your pediatrician.

When should the child of scoliotic parents be examined?
Children of scoliotic parents should be checked at their yearly physical examinations, especially during their growth spurts (10 to 15 years old).

Why didn't we notice it sooner?
In many cases, curves do not appear until the early teenage years. Small curves often go unnoticed until a child hits a growth spurt during puberty. Because scoliosis is rarely painful, children and their parents may not discover it until there are more obvious signs.

In addition, adolescents tend to be modest. Many girls are self-conscious and tend to wear baggy clothing. It isn't until they wear more form-fitting clothes (bathing suits, t-shirts) that the curves are apparent.

Also, adolescents may not see their pediatricians on a regular basis.

Why didn't our pediatrician see it sooner?
Scoliosis curves can get worse very fast, especially during pre-adolescence. Your pediatrician may not have seen your child during this time of growth.

Common Questions About Scoliosis Research

What scoliosis research is currently being conducted?
At present, the main research focus in idiopathic scoliosis is investigation into the cause of the condition.

There are many factors that may contribute to curving of the spine. The main factors currently being studied are genetics (heredity), soft tissue problems (bone, muscle, ligaments, and disks), vertebral growth problems, and central nervous system disorders.

Are children born with idiopathic scoliosis?
Children with true adolescent idiopathic scoliosis may have been born with the genetic markers that cause scoliosis. The genes that these markers are on are not known exactly, and researchers are working on finding them.

Is there genetic testing?
Yes, there is a genetic test to help determine whether a curve will get worse. However, the test is currently only for a select group of children. These are Caucasian girls between the ages of 9 and 13, with curves measuring 10 to 25 degrees. Researchers are working on improving the test to include all ethnic groups and all ages of children.

Congenital Scoliosis
Early Onset Scoliosis
About Early Onset Scoliosis
Infantile Idiopathic Scoliosis
Thoracic Insufficiency Syndrome
Juvenile Idiopathic Scoliosis
Idiopathic Scoliosis