MENU
Scoliosis Research Society
SRS: Scoliosis Research Society

Scoliosis Research Society

Dédié à la prise en charge optimale des patients atteints de difformité spinale

Quelles sont les déformations rachidiennes ?

Normal Spine Waistline asymmetry and body shifted to the right A prominence on the back Normal appearance when viewed from the side
Figure 1A: Figure 2B: Figure 2A: Figure 2B:

La scoliose est définie comme une courbure anormale latérale (sur le côté) mesurant plus de 10 degrés. Quand le corps est vu de dos , le rachis normal apparait droit (figure 1A). Cependant, quand un rachis avec une scoliose est vu de dos, une courbure latérale peut apparaitre (figure 2A). Ceci donne l’apparence d’une inclinaison sur le coté et ne doit pas être confondu avec une mauvaise posture.

Une courbure scoliotique peut être fonctionnelle ou structurale. Les courbures fonctionnelles peuvent être positionnelles. Par exemple, si une personne se tient de façon asymétrique, avec un genou plié, le bassin incliné , une courbure peut être présente ; elle disparaitra dès que le genou sera étendu et que le bassin sera positionné horizontal . Les courbures structurales sont celles qui sont plus rigides et celles qui ne peuvent pas disparaître aux changements de positions. Elles ont une importance plus grande que les courbures fonctionnelles.

Quand le tronc est observé de côté , le rachis normal présente des courbures normales. La partie haute du thorax présente un arrondi (cyphose) tandis que la partie basse est creusée en lordose (figure 1B). L’augmentation de l’arrondi du dos dans la partie thoracique est appelée hypercyphose tandis que l’augmentation du creux en région lombaire est appelée hyperlordose (figure 2B). Des changements par rapport à la normalité sur une vue latérale accompagnent fréquemment les modifications scoliotiques. La cyphose thoracique normale diminue le plus souvent dans les scolioses de l’adolescent.

Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
An International Organization Dedicated to the Education, Research and Treatment of Spinal Deformity
Our Mission is to Foster Optimal Care for All Patients with Spinal Deformities
Facebook

What Are Spinal Deformities?

Normal Spine Waistline asymmetry and body shifted to the right A prominence on the back Normal appearance when viewed from the side
Figure 1A: Figure 2B: Figure 2A: Figure 2B:

Scoliosis is defined as abnormal lateral (to the side) curvature of the spine measuring greater than 10 degrees. When the body is viewed from behind, a normal spine appears straight (figure 1A). However, when a spine with a scoliosis is viewed from behind, a lateral, or side-to-side, curvature may be apparent (figure 1B). This gives the appearance of leaning to one side and should not be confused with poor posture.

A scoliotic curve may be functional or structural in nature. Functional curves may be positional. For example, if a person stands asymmetrically, with one knee bent, and the pelvis tilted downward, a curve will be present, but this will go away as soon as the knee is straightened and the pelvis is held parallel to the floor. Structural curves are those that have stiffness within them, such that they do not go away with changes of position. These therefore have much more significance than functional curves.

When the trunk is viewed from the side, the normal spine will demonstrate normal curves. The upper chest area has a normal roundback, or kyphosis, while in the lower spine there is a swayback, or lordosis (figure 2A). Increased roundback in the chest area is called hyperkyphosis, while increased swayback is termed hyperlordosis (figure 2B). Changes from normal on a side view frequently accompany scoliotic changes. The normal thoracic kyphosis is decreased with the most common form of scoliosis in adolescents.

Congenital Scoliosis
Early Onset Scoliosis
About Early Onset Scoliosis
Infantile Idiopathic Scoliosis
Thoracic Insufficiency Syndrome
Juvenile Idiopathic Scoliosis
Idiopathic Scoliosis