MENU
Scoliosis Research Society
SRS: Scoliosis Research Society

Scoliosis Research Society

Dédié à la prise en charge optimale des patients atteints de difformité spinale

Questions sur la scoliose commune

What is Scoliosis?
Qu’est ce que la scoliose ?
Chaque rachis a des courbures naturelles.Ces courbures arrondissent nos épaules et rendent notre colonne lombaire légèrement cambrée . Mais certains ont un rachis qui est incurvé dans le plan frontal . Contrairement à une mauvaise posture , ces courbures ne peuvent pas se corriger avec l’apprentissage du maintien debout droit . Cette situation avec colonne incurvée s’appelle scoliose . Sur une radio , le rachis a une forme de S ou de C et non d’une ligne droite .Ces courbures peuvent rendre les épaules et la taille des scoliotiques asymétriques . Certaines vertèbres scoliotiques peuvent présenter une légère rotation rendant une omoplate plus proéminente que l’autre

Scoliose est un mot descriptif et non pas un diagnostic . Dans plus de 80 % des cas, aucune cause spécifique n’est reconnue ; ces cas sont appelés " idiopathiques " ," sans cause déterminée ". Cette situation est particulièrement commune chez les jeunes filles adolescentes. La scoliose idiopathique est appelée " infantile " chez les enfants entre 0 et 3 ans, " juvénile " chez des enfants entre 4 et 10 ans, " de l’adolescence ", chez les adolescents entre 11 et 18 ans et " adulte " chez les patients de plus de 18 ans. Les causes connues pour entrainer les déformations rachidiennes sont les anomalies congénitales de la colonne (présentes à la naissance), appelée scolioses congénitales , les désordres neurologiques (scolioses neuromusculaires) , les anomalies génétiques, et beaucoup d’autres causes. La scoliose n’est pas due à un excès de port de poids, à des efforts sportifs, à des positions couché ou debout, ou à des anomalies mineures de longueurs de membres.

What is Scoliosis?

Ai je une scoliose ?
Pour savoir si vous avez ou non une scoliose, il est préférable de voir un médecin qui réalisera un examen clinique de votre dos. Cet examen est fait debout en position relâchée avec vos bras sur le côté. Le médecin vous observera de l’arrière pour rechercher une courbure rachidienne anormale , une asymétrie des épaules, une asymétrie des triangles de taille et un déséquilibre du tronc. Vous vous pencherez en avant et le médecin regardera votre dos, pour reconnaître la rotation de la scoliose à la partie haute du dos (gibbosité due aux côtes) ou à la partie basse de votre dos (bourrelet lombaire). A la suite de ce simple examen clinique , le médecin prescrira des radiographies du rachis vue de dos et de profil, pour voir l’ensemble de votre colonne, du cou au bassin. Si la scoliose est présente, le médecin fera des mesures sur les radios et vous donnera une évaluation en degrés de cette scoliose pour aider à la décrire.

Quelles sont les possibilités de traitement ?

  1. La surveillance
    est proposée pour des courbures qui ont un faible angle quand vous êtes en phase de croissance (scoliose de l’adolescence) ou pour des courbures d’angles modérées (entre 40° et 45°) si vous êtes en période de croissance. Pour les adultes , surveillance et traitements physiques sont proposés aux patients qui ont des symptômes modérés et qui ont des courbures faibles.
  2. Le corset
    est proposé pour des courbures entre 25° et 45° chez des enfants qui grandissent, pour prévenir une progression future de la courbe pendant qu’il persiste un potentiel de croissance de la colonne. Le but du corset est de prévenir une progression future mais le corset ne peut pas corriger complètement ces courbures.
  3. Le traitement chirurgical
    Il est réservé aux courbures qui sont généralement supérieures à 50° chez les patients adolescents et adultes. La chirurgie peut-être proposée pour des courbures plus faibles si l’aspect esthétique est gênant pour le patient ou si la scoliose est symptomatique et douloureuse chez le patient adulte. Le but de la chirurgie est d’obtenir une correction de la courbure et de prévenir sa progression. Il est généralement réalisé en plaçant des implants métalliques dans le rachis qui sont reliés à des tiges pour corriger la courbure et pour maintenir cette position corrigée jusqu’à obtention de la fusion ou arthrodèse .

Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
An International Organization Dedicated to the Education, Research and Treatment of Spinal Deformity
Our Mission is to Foster Optimal Care for All Patients with Spinal Deformities
Facebook

Common Scoliosis Questions

What is Scoliosis?
What is Scoliosis?
Everyone’s spine has natural curves. These curves round our shoulders and make our lower back curve slightly inward. But some people have spines that also curve from side to side, and rotate. Unlike poor posture, these curves can’t be corrected simply by learning to stand up straight.

This condition of side-to-side spinal curves is called “scoliosis”. On an x-ray, the spine of a person with scoliosis looks more like an “S” or a “C” than a straight line. These curves can make the person’s shoulders or waist appear uneven. Some of these bones may also be rotated slightly, making one shoulder blade more prominent than the other.

Scoliosis is a descriptive term and not a diagnosis. In more than 80% of cases, a specific cause is not known. Such cases are termed “idiopathic”, meaning “of undetermined cause”. This is particularly common in adolescent girls. Idiopathic scoliosis is typically called “infantile” in children 0-3 years old, “juvenile” in children 4-10 years old, “adolescent” in adolescents 11-18 years old, and “adult” in patients over 18 years old. Conditions known to cause spinal deformity are congenital spinal column abnormalities (present at birth – called congenital scoliosis), neurologic disorders (neuromuscular scoliosis), genetic conditions, and many other causes. Scoliosis does not come from carrying heavy things, athletic involvement, sleeping/standing postures, or minor leg length abnormalities.

What is Scoliosis?

Do I Have Scoliosis?
Determining whether or not you have scoliosis is best done by a physician who performs a physical examination of your back. The examination is done with you standing in a relaxed position with your arms at your sides. The physician will view you from behind looking for curvature of the spine, shoulder blade asymmetry, waistline asymmetry and any trunk shift. You will then bend forward at the waist and the physician will view your back once again to look for the rotational aspect of the scoliosis in the upper part of the back (rib prominence) or in the lower part of your back (flank or waist prominence). Following this simple examination, the physician will usually initial radiographs of the spine viewed from the back and the side to see the entire spine from the neck to the pelvis. If scoliosis is present, the physician will measure the radiographs and provide you with a numerical value, in degrees, to help describe the scoliosis.

What Are My Treatment Options?

  1. Observation
    This is for curves that have a small degree measurement when you are growing (adolescent scoliosis), or for moderate size curves (< 40-45 degrees) when you are done growing. For adults, observation and physical therapy are for those patients who have mild symptoms and have curves which are not large.
  2. Bracing
    This is for curves between 25 and 45 degrees in growing children to prevent further progression of the curve while growth of the spine remains. The goal of bracing is to prevent further progression since the brace cannot correct curves.
  3. Surgical Treatment
    This reserved for curves which are generally greater than 50 degrees for adolescent patients and adults. Surgery can be performed for smaller curves if the appearance of the curvature is bothersome to the patient or if symptoms are associated with the scoliosis in the adult patient. The goals of surgical treatment are to obtain curve correction and to prevent curve progression. This is generally achieved by placing metal implants onto the spine which are then attached to rods which correct the spine curvature and hold it in the corrected position until fusion, or knitting of the spine elements together.
Congenital Scoliosis
Early Onset Scoliosis
About Early Onset Scoliosis
Infantile Idiopathic Scoliosis
Thoracic Insufficiency Syndrome
Juvenile Idiopathic Scoliosis
Idiopathic Scoliosis