MENU
Scoliosis Research Society
SRS: Scoliosis Research Society

Scoliosis Research Society

Dédié à la prise en charge optimale des patients atteints de difformité spinale

Lyse Isthmique

Pars interarticularis
L’isthme est une structure anatomique du rachis lombaire qui sépare les articulaires supérieures et inférieures . Cet isthme est normal chez la grande majorité des enfants .
Spondylolysis

Après approximativement 8 ans , certains patients présentent une croissance et un développement anormal de cette structure particulière .Une fragilité osseuse génétique a été reconnue dans certains groupes ethniques comme les Indiens d’Alaska . Certaines activités ou blessures (en gymnastique ,lors de soulèvement de poids lourds) peuvent entrainer cette lésion .

La fracture de fatigue peut survenir quand l’isthme subit une usure naturelle excessive consecutive à la vie quotidienne , aux sports ou à une chute . Les signes cliniques comprennent une douleur lombaire , une raideur , une rétraction des muscles ischio-jambiers . Les radios simples peuvent ne rien montrer . La scintigraphie osseuse peut montrer une inflammation de l’isthme . Le traitement comprend la prise d’antalgique et des assouplissements rachidiens .Après plusieurs mois , la majorité des patients retrouve une vie normale .

Brace for stress injury/fracture

Si l’isthme se fissure ou se fracture on parle de lyse isthmique . La radiographie confirme l’anomalie osseuse . Le traitement est adapté à la sévérité des symptomes . Les anti-inflammatoires , le traitement physique , le corset et la modification des activités doivent être proposés . Avant un retour aux activités antérieures après disparition des douleurs , un programme de renforcement musculaire (pilate ou yoga) doit être prescrit pour renforcer les muscles et diminuer le risque de re-blessure .

Il existe 3 stades de lésion de l’isthme : la fissure , la fracture (ou lyse) , et le glissement (spondylolisthésis) .

CORE Excercises

Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
An International Organization Dedicated to the Education, Research and Treatment of Spinal Deformity
Our Mission is to Foster Optimal Care for All Patients with Spinal Deformities
Facebook

Spondylolysis

Pars interarticularis
The pars interarticularis is a portion of the lumbar spine that joins the upper and lower joints together. The pars is normal in the vast majority of children.
Spondylolysis

After approximately 8 years of age, certain patients begin to experience abnormal growth and development of this particular region in the bone. A genetic weakness to the bone has only been established in certain ethnic groups such as Alaskan Indians. It does appear that certain athletic activities or injuries (gymnastics, heavy weight

Stress reaction or injury may occur when the bone experiences excessive wear and tear from activities of daily living, sports, or a fall. The symptoms may include lumbar pain, stiffness, and hamstring muscle tightness. X-rays may not reveal any abnormality. A bone scan will demonstrate the inflammation in the pars. Treatment consists of relieving the pain and restoring spinal flexibility. After several months, the majority of patients resume most activities.

Brace for stress injury/fracture

If the pars "cracks" or fractures, the condition is called Spondylolysis. The X-ray confirms the bony abnormality. Treatment is customized based on the severity of symptoms. Anti-inflammatory drugs, physical therapy, brace wear, and activity modifications will be considered. Prior to a release to activities after the pain resolves, a course of truncal core muscle strengthening (pilates or yoga) may be prescribed to condition the muscles and minimize reinjury.

There are three stages of injury to the pars interarticularis: stress reaction, fracture (spondylolysis), and slippage (spondylolisthesis).

CORE Excercises
Congenital Scoliosis
Early Onset Scoliosis
About Early Onset Scoliosis
Infantile Idiopathic Scoliosis
Thoracic Insufficiency Syndrome
Juvenile Idiopathic Scoliosis
Idiopathic Scoliosis