Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
An International Organization Dedicated to the Education, Research and Treatment of Spinal Deformity
Our Mission is to Foster Optimal Care for All Patients with Spinal Deformities

History of the Scoliosis Research Society

The Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) was founded on June 10, 1966 by 37 spine deformity specialists at the First Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA.  These physicians founded the SRS to provide educational and research opportunities for their peers. The mission of the SRS has been to foster the optimal care of patients with spinal deformity. Since 1966, SRS has grown into an organization that includes over 1,100 of the world’s leading spine surgeons in 41 countries as well as researchers, physician assistants and orthotists who are involved in research and treatment of spine deformities.




















Top Row: John H. Moe 1966-68; John E. Hall 1969-70; G. Dean MacEwan 1971-72; Paul R. Harrington 1973; Robert B. Winter 1974; Kenton D. Leatherman 1975; Edward H. Simmons 1976; Lou Goldstein 1976; R. Kirkin Ashley 1977-78. Second Row Down: David B. Levine 1979; William J. Kane 1980; Gordon W.D. Armstrong 1981; Theodore R. Waugh 1982; Clyde Lester Nash Jr. 1983; David S. Bradford 1984; Allen S. Edmonson 1985; Wilton H. Bunch 1986; John P. Kostuik 1987. Third Row Down: Ronald L. DeWald 1988; Robert N. Hensinger 1989; Jessie H. Dickson 1990; John E. Lonstein 1991; Daniel R. Benson 1992; John Carlisle Brown 1993; Gordon L. Engler 1994; Edgar G. Dawson 1995; Vernon T. Tolo 1996. Fourth Row Down: Marc A. Asher 1997; Donald P.K. Chan 1998; Courtney W. Brown 1999; Harry L. Shufflebarger 2000; Alvin H. Crawford 2001; Denis S. Drummond 2002; Keith H. Bridwell 2003; James W. Ogilvie 2004; Randall R. Betz 2005. Bottom Row: Behrooz A. Akbarnia 2006; George H. Thompson 2007-08; Oheneba Boachie-Adjei 2009; Richard E. McCarthy 2010; Lawrence G. Lenke 2011; B. Stephens Richards III 2012; Kamal I. Ibrahim 2013; Steven D. Glassman 2014.