Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
Scoliosis Research Society (SRS)
An International Organization Dedicated to the Education, Research and Treatment of Spinal Deformity
Our Mission is to Foster Optimal Care for All Patients with Spinal Deformities

2007 Scoliosis Research Society
42nd Annual Meeting & Pre-meeting Course

Edinburgh, Scotland
September 5-8, 2007

2007 Award Winners

Walter P. Blount Service Award
This award honors those who act generously out of their sense of service to larger social and professional goals. The SRS membership was asked to nominate those who volunteer their time to related organizations; who offer charity care or reduced fees for poorer patients; who put in time on committee work out of the sense of duty to their institution or professional society.

2007 Winner

Prof. John CY Leong
President, The Open University of Hong Kong,
Formerly Chair Professor and Head, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, The University of Hong Kong

Prof. John Leong has always been concerned with the progress and development of spinal surgery in China, especially in spinal deformity surgery. In the 1980's he gave lectures, rendered advice to organize the spinal service of the Guandong Provincial People's Hospital and demonstrated his operation procedures. He introduced the use of Harrington rods for posterior scoliosis correction and Dwyer instrumentation for anterior scoliosis correction. This introduction led the Chinese surgeons to enter a new era of surgical treatment of scoliosis.

Professor Jiakai Zhu, former Vice-President, Sun Yat Sen University of Medical Sciences, and presently Special Professor, First Affiliated Hospital of Sun Yat Sen University, Guangzhou summarizes the thoughts of many Chinese spine surgeons: "I feel that without his pioneering spirit and introduction of modern scoliosis techniques to China in the early 1980's, spine surgeons would not be so interested in scoliosis treatment and scoliosis surgery in China would not be where it is today."

John CY Leong Ward Round
  Ward Round with Prof. Lu Shib Bei at the
301 People's Liberation Army (Main) Hospital, Beijing
(Mid 1980's)

SRS 42nd Annual Meeting
Award Winners

Russell Hibbs Award
Best Basic Science Presentation

Paper # 66
The Effect of Two Clinically Relevant Fusionless Scoliosis Implant Strategies on the Health of the Intervertebral Disc
Kenneth J, Hunt, MD; John T. Braun, MD; Bryt Christensen, BS

Russell Hibbs Award
Best Clinical Presentation

Paper #13
Posterior Vertebral Column Resection for Severe Pediatric and Adult Spinal Deformity: Indications, Results, and Complications of 43 Consecutive Cases
Lawrence G. Lenke, MD; Brenda A. Sides, MA; Ms. Linda Koester; Marsha Hensley, RN; Kathy Blanke, RN

John H. Moe Award
Best Basic Science Poster
Traditional Poster # 12
Aprotinin Inhibits Bone Formation In Vitro
Jonathan G. Schoenecker, MD; Mr. Nicholas Mignemi; Heidi Hamm, PhD; Herbert Schwartz, MD; Ginger Holt, MD; Gregory Mencio, MD

Louis A. Goldstein Award
Best Clinical Poster

E-Poster #5
Prospective Study of Post-Operative Lumbar Epidural Hematoma: Does Size Really Matter?
Mark J. Sokolowski, MD; Timothy A. Garvey, MD; John Perl, MD; Amir A. Mehbod, MD; Burak Akesen, MD; Margaret S. Sokolowksi, PhD; Ensor E. Transfeldt, MD