Scoliosis Research Society
SRS: Scoliosis Research Society

Scoliosis Research Society

Dedicated to the optimal care of patients with spinal deformity

NEWS RELEASE: Scoliosis Research Society Announces the Winners of the Russell A. Hibbs, John H. Moe & Louis A. Goldstein Awards

October 2, 2017

Contact: Tressa Goulding, Scoliosis Research Society
Phone: 414-289-9107

Scoliosis Research Society Announces the Winners of the
Russell A. Hibbs, John H. Moe & Louis A. Goldstein Awards

Milwaukee, WI (September 9, 2017) – During the 52nd Annual Meeting & Course held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, September 6-9, the Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) announced the winners of the Russell A. Hibbs, John H. Moe & Louis A. Goldstein Awards. Named after pioneers in scoliosis surgery, the awards are given to the best basic research and best clinical research papers.

Nominees for the awards are selected by the Program Committee from the submitted 2017 abstracts for the IMAST and the SRS Annual Meeting. The nominees are invited to submit their paper’s manuscript which is reviewed by the Program Committee. During the meeting, attendees vote for their favorite presentation via the SRS Annual Meeting app and the popular votes and manuscript scores are taken into consideration by the Program Committee, who select the final winners.

This year’s winners are:

Russell A. Hibbs Best Basic Research Paper Award:
Propionibacterium Acnes Survives Only in the Presence of Implants and Causes Late Infection
Yuta Shiono; Ken Ishii, MD; Kota Watanabe, MD, PhD; Morio Matsumoto, MD

Russell A. Hibbs Best Clinical Research Paper Award:
Dose-Response Relationship of Tranexamic Acid in Adolescent Scoliosis Surgery
Susan M. Goobie, MD, FRCPC; Michael T. Hresko, MD; Michael P. Glotzbecker, MD; Daniel J. Hedequist, MD; John B. Emans, MD; Lawrence I. Karlin, MD; Mary Ellen Mccan, MD, MPH; Robert M. Brustowicz, MD; Navil F. Sethna, MD; Andres Navedo, MD; Elisabeth Dwyer, BSN; Xiayi Huang, BS; Luis Periera, PhD

John H. Moe Best Basic Research Poster Award:
Development of a New Quaternary-Ammonium Bactericidal Coating with Anti-Biofilm Activity: Application on Covalently Grafter Titanium Surfaces
Houssam Bouloussa, MD, MS; Charles Court, MD, PhD

Louis A. Goldstein Best Clinical Research Poster Award:
Evolution of Sagittal Plane Correction Durability and Associations With Patient Reported Outcome Measures (PROMS) For Long Fusions Terminating At The Upper Thoracic (UT) vs. Thoracolumbar (TL) Spine With Minimum 3 Yr Follow-Up
Munish Gupta, MD; Renaud Lafage, MS; Michael P. Kelly, MD; Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD; Gregory M. Mundis, MD; Richard Hostin, MD; Douglas C. Burton, MD; Christopher P. Ames, MD; Frank J. Schwab, MD; Han Jo Kim, MD; Eric O. Klineberg, MD; Shay Bess, MD; Justin S. Smith, MD, PhD; Virginie LaFage, PhD; International Spine Study Group

The Scoliosis Research Society is a non-profit, professional organization, made up of physicians and allied health personnel. Our primary focus is on providing continuing medical education for health care professionals and on funding/supporting research in spinal deformities. Founded in 1966, SRS has gained recognition as the world's premier spine deformity society. Please visit for further information.


Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.