Scoliosis Research Society
SRS: Scoliosis Research Society

Scoliosis Research Society

Dedicated to the optimal care of patients with spinal deformity

NEWS RELEASE: Scoliosis Research Society Announces the Winners of the Thomas E. Whitecloud Awards

July 16, 2016

Contact: Tressa Goulding, Scoliosis Research Society
Phone: 414-289-9107 Email:

Scoliosis Research Society Announces
the Winners of the Thomas E. Whitecloud Awards

Milwaukee, WI (July 16, 2016) – During the 23rd International Meeting on Advanced Spine Techniques (IMAST) held in Washington, D.C., July 13-16, the Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) announced the winners of Thomas E. Whitecloud Awards. Named after Dr. Thomas E. Whitecloud, who helped found the IMAST meeting, the awards are given to the best basic science and clinical papers.

Nominees for the Whitecloud Best Basic Science and Clinical awards are selected by the IMAST Committee from the submitted 2016 abstracts for the IMAST and the SRS Annual Meeting. The nominees are invited to submit their paper’s manuscript which is reviewed by the IMAST committee. During the meeting, attendees vote for their favorite presentation via the IMAST app and the popular votes and manuscript scores are taken into consideration by the IMAST committee, who select the final winners.

This year’s winners are:

Whitecloud Award for Best Basic Science Paper

Paper 13: The Effect of Anti-Microbial Irrigations on Osteoblasts and Bone Formation: An in Vitro Comparison of Vancomycin, Gentamicin and Povidone-Iodine.
Ashleigh Marie Philp; Matthew Peter Newton Ede, FRCS T&O; Simon W. Jones, PhD

Whitecloud Award for Best Clinical Paper

Paper 9: Incidence of Proximal Junctional Kyphosis in Patients with Adult Spinal Deformity Fused to the Pelvis: A ScoliRisk-1 Sub-analysis
Amit Jain, MD; Floreana Naef Kebaish, MD; Lawrence G. Lenke, MD; Yong Qiu, MD; Yukihiro Matsuyama, MD, PhD; Christopher P. Ames, MD; Michael G. Fehlings, MD, PhD, FRCSC; Benny T. Dahl, MD, PhD; Hossein Mehdian, MD; Kenneth MC Cheung, MD; Frank J. Schwab, MD; Ferran Pellisé, MD; Leah Yacat Carreon, MD, MSc; Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD; Khaled M. Kebaish, MD, FRCSC

The Scoliosis Research Society is a non-profit, professional organization, made up of physicians and allied health personnel. Our primary focus is on providing continuing medical education for health care professionals and on funding/supporting research in spinal deformities. Founded in 1966, SRS has gained recognition as the world's premier spine deformity society. Please visit for further information.


Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.