Scoliosis Research Society
SRS: Scoliosis Research Society

Scoliosis Research Society

Dedicated to the optimal care of patients with spinal deformity

NEWS RELEASE | Scoliosis Research Society Announces the Winners of the Russell A. Hibbs, John H. Moe & Louis A. Goldstein Awards

September 21, 2019

Contact: Tressa Goulding, Scoliosis Research Society
Phone: 414-289-9107

Scoliosis Research Society Announces the Winners of the Russell A. Hibbs, John H. Moe & Louis A. Goldstein Awards

Milwaukee, WI (September 21, 2019) – During the 54th Annual Meeting held in Montreal, Canada, September 18-21, the Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) announced the winners of the Russell A. Hibbs, John H. Moe & Louis A. Goldstein Awards. Named after pioneers in scoliosis surgery, the awards are given to the best basic research and best clinical research papers.

Nominees for the awards are selected by the Program Committee from the submitted 2019 abstracts for the IMAST and the SRS Annual Meeting. The nominees are invited to submit their paper’s manuscript which is reviewed by the Program Committee. During the meeting, attendees vote for their favorite presentation via the SRS Annual Meeting app and the popular votes and manuscript scores are taken into consideration by the Program Committee, who select the final winners. This year’s winners are:

Russell A. Hibbs Best Basic Research Paper Award:

A Multi-ethnic Meta-analysis Defined the Association of rs12946942 with Progression of Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis
Kazuki Takeda, MD, PhD; Nao Otomo, MD; Anna Grauers, MD, PhD; Yan-Hui Fan; Yoji Ogura, MD; Youhei Takahashi, MD; Elisabet Einarsdottir; Juha Kere; Morio Matsumoto, MD, PhD; Yong Qiu, MD; You-Qiang Song, PhD; Paul Gerdhem, MD, PhD; Shiro Ikegawa, MD, PhD; Kota Watanabe, MD, PhD

Russell A. Hibbs Best Clinical Research Paper Award:

Using Humerus Ossification and Cobb Angle to Predict Progression to Surgery in Scoliosis Patients
Don Li, MS; Jonathan Cui, MD, BS; Stephen G. DeVries, BS; Joseph Kahan, MD; Logan Petit, MD; Ronan Talty; Daniel R. Cooperman, MD; Brian G. Smith, MD

John H. Moe Best Basic Research Poster Award:

Dynamic Spine Posture in Adolescents Idiopathic Scoliosis Patients
Sebastien Pesenti, MD, PhD; Solène Prost, MD; Guillaume Authier; Elke Viehweger, MD, PhD; Benjamin Blondel, MD, PhD; Jean-Luc Jouve, MD

Louis A. Goldstein Best Clinical Research Poster Award:

Preoperative Halo Skeletal Traction for Severe Scoliosis
Chang Ju Hwang, MD, PhD; Dong-Gyun Kim, MD; Dong-Ho Lee, MD, PhD; Choon Sung Lee, MD, PhD; Jae Woo Park, MD; Jae Hwan Cho, MD, PhD

The Scoliosis Research Society is a non-profit, professional organization, made up of physicians and allied health personnel. Our primary focus is on providing continuing medical education for health care professionals and on funding/supporting research in spinal deformities. Founded in 1966, SRS has gained recognition as the world's premier spine deformity society. Please visit for further information.


Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.