SRS Newsletter
December 2011
Return to Newsletter >

Annual Meeting Program Changes

Daniel J. Sucato, MD
Program Committee Chair

The abstract submission process is now open on the website. Please see the “Call for Abstract” link on the homepage of the website. Abstract submissions are due February 1, 2012 for the 47th Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

The Program Committee has met and has decided to make three changes to the meeting this year. The first will be to involve the membership in the voting for the Hibbs Clinical and Basic Science Awards at the time of their podium presentations via a smartphone app or paper ballot. The podium presentations of the finalists for the Hibbs Awards will be grouped at the Annual Meeting to allow the audience to view them in one session and to vote immediately following that session. The second change will be to add a single concurrent session to Friday morning to allow more podium presentations to be given at the Annual Meeting. The number and quality of abstracts submitted to the Annual Meeting has continued to increase. For example, last year, there was a total of 1,100 abstracts submitted with 850 designated by authors to be considered for the Annual Meeting. The average score for those abstracts accepted for these podium presentations was 3.21 (possible score 1-best to 10-worst) with the highest score for a podium presentation that was accepted of 4.0. There were 145 abstracts with a score of 4.0 or less who were not selected for the meeting. The concurrent session will allow close to 20 additional abstracts to be presented. Finally, due to the success of the case presentation sessions last year, they will be repeated this year for those who want to present a case or small number of cases (limit of five or fewer patients) on an interesting topic. Although any category of interesting case is allowed, we will place an emphasis on those presentations focusing on the topics of “surgical site infections” and “neurologic deficits.”

Chair: Daniel J. Sucato, MD Committee Members: Laurel C. Blakemore, MD; Yutaka Sasao, MD; R. Haluk Berk, MD; William F. Donaldson III, MD; Glenn R. Rechtine II, MD; Daniel W. Green, MD; Timothy S. Oswald, MD; Suken A. Shah, MD; Stanley S. Lee, MD; John Thometz, MD; James O. Sanders, MD.