SRS Newsletter
December 2011
Return to Newsletter >

Awards and Scholarship Announcements

Stephen J. Lewis, MD
Awards and Scholarship Committee Chair

On behalf of the Awards and Scholarship committee, we are pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 yearís Scoliosis Research Society Awards.

SRS Lifetime Achievement Awards
It was with great pleasure that we awarded Ronald L. DeWald, MD and Denis S. Drummond, MD with the SRS Lifetime Achievement Awards for their outstanding contributions to both the SRS and spinal deformity surgery. Their global and local impact on the spine community especially in their role as teachers, were well recognized by the nominees. Drs. Dewald and Drummondís numerous accomplishments were highlighted at the Annual Meeting in Louisville, Kentucky, USA and their legacy in the spine world has been well established.

Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award
James W. Ogilvie, MD was honored with the Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award for his generous contributions of his time and skills in China and Malaysia. He has traveled annually both treating and training the local community in providing current treatments for very complex deformities.

Edgar Dawson Award
Jacob M. Buchowski, MD was awarded the Edgar Dawson Traveling Fellowship for 2011. Dr. Buchowski was a well-deserved recipient of this award and was hosted for his travels at the Spine Center of the University of California, San Francisco.

Global Outreach Program Educational Scholarship
Drs. K. Narayana Acharya, Anne Kathleen Ganal-Antonio, and Xin-Feng Li received the Global Outreach Program (GOP) Educational Scholarships to attend the IMAST meeting in Copenhagen, Denmark. Dr. Nariman Abol Oyoun received the award to attend the SRS Annual Meeting in Louisville, Kentucky, USA. All were very worthy recipients and enjoyed the educational experience they were provided.

Global Outreach Program Visiting Fellowship
Drs. Mirza Biscevic and Bhavuk Garg were the recipients of the GOP Visiting Fellowship. Each traveled to a host site for a three-week observational visit.

Medtronic SRS Traveling Fellows
The winners of the 2011 Medtronic Traveling Fellows were Ronald A. Lehman, Jr., MD; Khaled Kebaish, MD and Jean-Marc Mac-Thiong, MD, PhD. They were chaperoned by Harry L. Shufflebarger, MD who organized an educational travel experience through Europe.

Depuy Traveling Fellows
The committee has selected the upcoming Depuy SRS Traveling Fellows for 2012. The successful candidates for 2012 include Srinivasa Vidyadhara, MS, DNB, FNB, from India; Ian J. Harding, FRCS, from England; and Elias C. Papadopoulos, MD, from Greece. An excellent program for them in the United States will include visits to Philadelphia, St. Louis, and Dallas, before concluding their travels at centers in Chicago prior to the SRS Annual Meeting.

Committee Updates

The Eduardo Luque Award
The committee is pleased to announce a new award for 2012. The Eduardo Luque Award will be awarded annually to an orthopaedic or neurosurgical trained spine surgeon under the age of 45, who has completed a spine fellowship, and is in active clinical practice with a focus in spinal deformity. Eligible candidates must be from Mexico, Central America or South America. The successful candidate will be chosen by appropriate Latin American spine societies. The award winner will be able to choose between attending an SRS meeting (the Annual Meeting or the IMAST), or a two-week visit to an SRS-approved host site focusing on spinal deformity. A special thank you to Albert E. Sanders, MD; James O. Sanders, MD; Charles F. Heinig, MD; Carlos A. Tello, MD; B. Stephen Richards, III, MD and Cydni Chapman for getting this award off the ground.

Changes to Award Eligibility
The committee has approved eligibility changes to the Edgar Dawson and the SRS Traveling Fellowships. Eligible candidates can now be either Candidate or Active SRS Members under the age of 45. Similarly, the age criterion has been increased to less than 45 years of age for the GOP Educational Scholarship and Visiting Fellowship.

The Awards Committee will provide a simplified summary of all awards that include a brief description of the awards, eligibility criteria, application deadlines, notification dates, and links to the appropriate application forms. A standardized grading system has been created for each award. The application forms will be structured to correspond with the standardized grading sheets.

The committee members have been pleased to be involved with the prestigious SRS awards and would like to congratulate the 2011 award recipients.

Committee Chair: Stephen J. Lewis, MD Committee Members: Kenneth J. Paonessa, MDl; Daniel J. Sucato, MD, MS; John M. Flynn, MD; Jahangir K. Asghar, MD; Sean Molloy, MBBS, MSc, FRCS, DC; Yongjung J. Kim, MD; Preston J. Phillips, MD; Lawrence L. Haber, MD; Hubert Labelle, MD; Hilali H. Noordeen, FRCS; David M. Montgomery, MD; Avraam Ploumis, MD, PhD; John M. Wattenbarger, MD.