SRS Newsletter
December 2011
Return to Newsletter >

Education Committee Report

Mark B. Dekutoski, MD and John R. Dimar, II, MD
Education Committee Chairs

The 2011-12 Education Committee activities have benefitted significantly from the legacy leadership of the Past Chair Joseph H. Perra, MD and past Education Council Chair Steven D. Glassman, MD. With the active leadership and guidance of President B. Steven Richards, III, MD and Education Council Chair Daniel J. Sucato, MD, the direction for the committee activities is being shaped by Co-Chairs John R. Dimar, MD and Mark B. Dekutoski, MD.

Developing the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Federation of Spine Associations (FOSA) program has provided a window for highlighting the SRS initiative in comparative effectiveness research. The focus of the symposia will be on the application of Appropriate Use Criteria (AUC) methodology as it applies to adult scoliosis treatment methods. The AUC initiative has been headed by David W. Polly, MD and was a focus of the SRS Cabinet Meeting this past October.

The Education Committee will also be presenting a Lunchtime Symposium at FOSA on physician-directed use of biologics. This will be a presentation of updated evidence based review data on dose effect and complications. Publication of this systematic review is planned.

The committee is developing the 2012 Pre-Meeting Course around the theme of the impact of emerging technologies over the past decade. The interest is in presenting an objective analysis from early promise to patient care impact. This will highlight pediatric and adult technologies such as VEPTR, Biologics, less invasive technologies, etc.

A new and exciting task is the development of AAOS performance improvement modules. Under direction of Dr. Richards, the Committee is currently developing two modules on pediatric and adult scoliosis. The committee chairs are heading this effort in coordination with the AAOS guidelines and Presidential Line leadership.

The Education Committee is also furthering collaborative educational activities with other spine societies. In 2011, the joint North American Spine Society (NASS)/SRS Deformity Course was oversold. This course was co-directed by Lawrence G. Lenke, MD and Mark B. Dekutoski, MD and will be offered again in 2012. Shared opportunities with the Société Internationale de Chirurgie Orthopédique et de Traumatologie (SICOT), College of Neurological Surgeons (CNS), and American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) are being explored and active inclusion of SRS leadership in the AOSpine knowledge forum has been generated by Dr. Lenke's leadership in the model collaboration of the Scoli-Risk Study and deformity education.

Education Committee members welcome feedback regarding development of symposia and other educational offerings.

Co-Chairs: Mark B. Dekutoski, MD; John R. Dimar, II, MD; Committee Members: Joseph H. Perra, MD; Daniel J. Sucato, MD, MS; Brian Hsu, MD; Adam L. Wollowick, MD; Lukas P. Zebala, MD; Eric T. Jones, MD; Glenn R. Rechtine, II, MD; Paul D. Sponseller, MD; Lori A. Karol, MD; Daniel W. Green, MD, FACS, MS; Sigurd H. Berven, MD; John C. France, MD; Kit M. Song, MD, MHA.