SRS Newsletter
December 2011
Return to Newsletter >

New Evidence Based Medicine Committee

James O. Sanders, MD
Evidence Based Medicine Committee Chair

The Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) has developed a new committee this year, the Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Committee, charged with the task of developing an infrastructure within SRS to promote and develop evidence based products such as systematic reviews, clinical practice guidelines, and appropriate use criteria among others.

For 2011-12, the group has three major goals:

  1. To become educated in EBM. We are grateful North American Spine Society (NASS) has opened up their education program to the members of the committee who will all be taking the course this year.
  2. To develop a systematic review on juvenile and adolescent spondylolysis and spondylolisthesis.
  3. To identify knowledge gaps in juvenile and adolescent spondylolysis which are important topics for future research and provide these to the Board of Directors and the Directed Research Taskforce for future research priorities.
  4. As the infrastructure becomes established, we hope to provide SRS with the skills necessary to firmly position themselves in the modern EBM world.

    Committee Chair: James O. Sanders, MD Committee Members: David W. Polly, MD; Steven D. Glassman, MD; Jacob M. Buchowski, MD; Charles H. Crawford, III, MD; Justin S. Smith, MD; Douglas C. Burton, MD; Serena S. Hu, MD; Baron S. Lonner, MD.