SRS Newsletter
March 2012
Return to Newsletter >

Research Grant: Fall 2011 and Spring 2012

John M. Flynn

John M. Flynn, MD
Research Grant Committee Chair

The Research Grants Committee is completing a significant transformation, designed to responsibly distribute very limited funding, increase the number of reviewers evaluating each grant and improve grant recipient accountability. These changes have required new limits on grant awards, a new model for grant reviews, and careful scrutiny of outcomes from grants awarded.

For the fall 2011 cycle, the committee received 23 grant applications requesting $1,063,351 in funds. Applications came from the United States, Canada, China, Egypt and Spain. These grants competed for $127,323. Grants were reviewed by four teams, each with four to five experts. All members of the teamed reviewed all grants and consensus decisions determined the results. Eleven applications were rejected, eight were asked to revise and resubmit in the Spring Cycle and four were funded totaling $87,000.

Funded grants for fall 2011 cycle:

"Treatment of the Growing Spine with Bisphosphonates: Mechanical Properties and Healing"
Small Exploratory Grant, $10,000
Michelle Caird, MD, University of Michigan

"Validation of a Genetic Test to Predict the Risk of Curve Progression in Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis"
New Investigator Grant, $25,000
Benjamin D. Roye, MD, MPH, New York Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital

"Study of Neural Connectivity, Functional Activation and Grey Matter Volume of the Sensorimotor Network in Idiopathic Scoliosis"
Standard Investigator Grant, $32,000
Julio Domenech, MD, PhD, Hospital Arnau de Vilanova, Spain

"Coagulation in Scoliosis Surgery"
New Investigator Grant, $20,000
Patrick Bosch, MD, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

The spring 2012 grant application site opened on February 1; the due date is April 1. Due to limited funds for 2012, the maximum award amount for Standard Investigator and Evidence-Based Medicine Grants has been reduced from $100,000 to $50,000.

The Research Outcomes Sub-Committee met at the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Annual Meeting to work on updating the outcomes report to prepare for posting it to the website. The Research Outcomes group is closely scrutinizing each grant to be certain that work is completed, reports are submitted on time, and the results are presented and published, so SRS Members get maximum benefit from their generous support of the SRS research program.

Chair: John M. Flynn, MD Committee Members: Dilip K. Sengupta, MD; Michelle S. Caird, MD; Kota Watanabe, MD, PhD; Rajiv K. Sethi, MD; Burt Yaszay, MD; Saumyajit Basu, MD; Federico P. Girardi, MD; Siavash Haghighi, MD; Kirkham B. Wood, MD; Lori Dolan, MD; Jonathan H. Phillips, MD; Charles E. Johnston, II, MD, Michelle C. Marks, MD