SRS Newsletter
June 2012
Return to Newsletter >

Awards and Scholarship Committee Update

Stephen Lewis, MD, MSc, FRCSC
Awards and Scholarship Committee Chair

Stephen Lewis, MD, MSc, FRCSC

On behalf of the Awards and Scholarship Committee, we are pleased to announce the winners of this year’s awards and scholarships.

Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award 2012
Anthony Rinella, MD will be honored as the 2012 recipient of the Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award for his generous contributions of his time and skills in providing spinal care in developing countries. Dr. Rinella’s dedication to this cause has been an inspiration to many surgeons and his commitment is highly valued by the Society. We appreciate Dr. Rinella’s great efforts in providing this much-needed care.

Edgar G. Dawson Fellowship 2012
Justin Smith, MD, PhD was awarded the 2012 Edgar G. Dawson Fellowship. Dr. Smith is a well-deserved recipient of this award, which will provide him the opportunity to visit K. Daniel Riew, MD at Washington University for a two to three-week fellowship in spinal deformity surgery.

Global Outreach Program Educational Scholarship 2012
Pankaj Kandwal, MD and Sambhav Shah, MD are this year’s recipients of the 2012 GOP Educational Scholarship.  This prestigious award provides winners with travel, accommodations and registration to attend the 47th Annual Meeting & Course in Chicago, Illinois, USA. We look forward to seeing them there.

Global Outreach Program Visiting Fellowship 2012
Abdul Rakib Al-Mirah, MD and Krishna Kumar Ramachandran Nair, MD are the recipients of the 2012 GOP Visiting Fellowship. This prestigious award provides the winners the opportunity to travel for a two to three-week visit to a host SRS site of their choice to further their education and training in spinal deformity surgery. Dr. Al-Mirah will visit Kirkham B. Wood, MD at Massachusetts General Hospital and Dr. Ramachandran Nair will visit Lawrence G. Lenke, MD at Washington University. 

DePuy SRS Traveling Fellows 2012
The 2012 DePuy SRS Traveling Fellows are Ian Harding, FRCS (Orth) (UK), Srinivasa Vidyadhara, MS, DNB, FhB (India), and Elias Papadopoulos, MD (Greece). They will be chaperoned by Michael McMaster, MD, DSc, FRCS through North American spine centers in Philadelphia, Dallas, St. Louis and Chicago. The fellows’ last stop will be the 47th Annual Meeting & Course in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

Eduardo R. Luque Award 2012
The Awards Committee in collaboration with SILACO has selected Mauricio Montalvo, MD of Mexico to be the inaugural recipient of the Eduardo R. Luque Award. The award commemorates the great contributions Dr. Luque made to spinal surgery and is awarded to a young spinal deformity surgeon from Latin America. Dr. Montalvo will have the opportunity to receive travel, accommodations and registration to the 47th Annual Meeting & Course or to visit a host SRS site for a two-week observation to further his education and skills in spinal deformity surgery.

Committee Updates
The SRS website has been updated with a simplified summary of all awards that includes a brief description of the awards, eligibility criteria, application deadlines, notification dates and links to the appropriate application forms. A standardized grading system has been created for each award. The application forms have been structured to correspond with the standardized grading sheets.

Chair Elect
The Awards Committee is pleased to announce Lawrence L. Haber, MD will assume the role of chairman of the Awards and Scholarship Committee following the 47th Annual Meeting & Course in Chicago, Illinois, USA. Dr. Haber has worked hard in instituting the necessary changes made in the awards processes and we wish him the best in leading this committee.

The Awards Committee members have been pleased to be involved with the prestigious SRS awards and would like to congratulate the 2012 award winners.

Committee Chair: Stephen J. Lewis, MD, MSc, FRCSC Committee Members: Kenneth J. Paonessa, MD; Daniel J. Sucato, MD, MS; John M. Flynn, MD; Jahangir K. Asghar, MD, Sean Molloy, MBBS, MSc, FRCS; Yongjung J. Kim, MD; Preston J. Phillips, MD; Lawrence L. Haber, MD; Hubert Labelle, MD; Hilali H. Noordeen, FRCS; David M. Montgomery, MD; Avraam Ploumis, MD, PhD; John M. Wattenbarger, MD.