SRS Newsletter
June 2012
Return to Newsletter >

Growing Spine: Growing Knowledge

Suken A. Shah, MD
Growing Spine Committee Chair

Suken A. Shah, MD

The Growing Spine Committee has worked over the past year to educate patients and their families and distill the exploding body of knowledge in this area for our members. 

A white paper describing the current state-of-the-art evaluation and treatment of the growing child with a spinal deformity, prepared by John Tis, MD, with contributions from other members of the committee and edited by Past-Chair Lawrence I. Karlin, MD, was submitted to the Journal of Pediatric Orthopaedics.

The content on the SRS website pertaining to Patient Education and Early Onset Scoliosis (EOS) was completely updated and re-organized into more contemporary terminology, treatment methods and illustrations along with a summary of the current clinical experience. This project was spearheaded by Ron El-Hawary, MD. We are currently in the process of formulating a glossary of terms (some of which did not even exist ten years ago) for the website pertaining to EOS.

While the current level of evidence does not allow us to prepare Best Practice Guidelines, the SRS Board of Directors has recently charged us with preparing a consensus statement for the treatment of the growing spine, so look for this soon!

Collaborative efforts continue with the International Congress on Early Onset Scoliosis (ICEOS) and Growing Spine Meeting, November 15-16, 2012, in Dublin, Ireland, endorsed by SRS.  Michael J. Mendelow, MD, Chair Elect of the Growing Spine Committee is serving on the Program Committee of this meeting.

We invite any comments or suggestions from the membership for future endeavors.

Committee Chair: Suken A. Shah, MD  Committee Members: Lawrence I. Karlin, MD; Ron El-Hawary, MD; John Tis, MD; Bruce L. Gillingham, MD; Eric T. Jones, MD; Ernesto S. Bersusky, MD; Michael J. Mendelow, MD; Kan Min, MD; Hilali Noordeen, FRCS; David L. Skaggs, MD; Edward P. Southern, MD; Dror Ovadia, MD; John T. Smith, MD; Brian D. Snyder, MD, PhD.