SRS Newsletter
September 2012
Return to Newsletter >

Morbidity & Mortality Committee Update

Paul D. Broadstone, MD
M&M Committee Chair

Paul D. Broadstone, MD

The M&M Committee continues to work on its charges to improve the quality and usefulness of the M&M data collection process.

As you may already know, we have implemented the new acute infection module for the 2012 collection year, which is in addition to the other three modules of death, visual acuity loss, and neurologic deficit.

We would like to take a moment to define these terms so that the data being entered is the most accurate and appropriate as possible.

Death:  Death that is attributable to a complication of the surgery or occurred during the surgical event. Current module goes for >21 days if in fact the death is traceable to the surgery or lingering complication.

Visual acuity loss (formally termed blindness): Any change in visual acuity listed by time of identification within the hospital stay. Classification is by pathology usually requiring specialty consultation.

Neurologic deficit (formally termed paralysis): Any change in the spinal cord, nerve roots, or peripheral nerves apparent within the time frames listed in the module.
Acute infection: Acute Infections that occur at the operative site in the post operative period of up to 12 weeks.

Please remember that if or when you enter any complications you must fully complete the detailed modules for each complication in the “add complication case” section. In reviewing the 2011 data collection report we found incomplete data.  Members, our data collection is only as good as the information that is entered correctly!!  Please, please complete all requested fields.  

Request for Proposal (RFP)
In response to the membership we have created a portal to gain access to the M&M data for your personal research through an RFP.

The official reveal of the RFP process, along with the year’s end report, will be announced during the M&M Committee report during the Member’s Business Meeting at the 47th Annual Meeting & Course in Chicago, Ill. USA, on September 7 at 7:09 AM. Shortly thereafter, we will begin to accept proposals. More information will be posted on the website in late September.  

Active Fellows (Surgeons) are required to submit annual online M&M reports. If you choose not to submit, a $300 contribution to the M&M research collection fund will be assessed on your next annual membership dues invoice.

M&M Non-submitter assessment schedule

Year’s Report

Site Opens

Site closes


2010 M&M Report

January 1, 2010

April 1, 2011

with 2012 Dues

2011 M&M Report

January 1, 2011

April 1, 2012

with 2013 Dues

2012 M&M Report

January 1, 2012

April 1, 2013

with 2014 Dues

2013 M&M Report

January 1, 2013

April 1, 2014

with 2015 Dues

2014 M&M Report

January 1, 2014

April 1, 2015

with 2016 Dues

2015 M&M Report

January 1, 2015

April 1, 2016

with 2017 Dues

All Candidate Fellows (Surgeons) are required to submit online annual M&M reports. Non-compliance of this requirement may hinder your chance to apply for Active Fellowship. Candidate Fellows do not have the option to opt out by paying the assessment.  You must have at least four M&M reports entered and the fifth reporting pending at time of Active Fellowship application submission at the end of your fifth year term.

Email reminders
Our primary method of M&M reminders is via email. Please make sure to read all the M&M reminders or forward to your staff person who is responsible for entering your data. If assistants are entering your M&M data, make sure that they are aware of the process, rules and deadlines prior to entering your data. 

The website is already open for the 2012 reporting year and will close April 1, 2013. 

Again, we thank you all for your commitment to the M&M program.   

ommittee Chair: Paul A. Broadstone, MD Committee Members: Michael J. Goytan, MD FRCSC; Amer Samdani, MD; Justin S. Smith, MD, PhD; Theodore Choma, MD; Douglas Burton, MD; Yongjung J. Kim, MD; Robert F. Heary, MD; Howard M. Place, MD; Jonathan E. Fuller, MD; Karl E. Rathjen, MD.