December 2016

Historian's Corner

George H. Thompson, MD
SRS Historian

During the just completed Annual Meeting & Course in Prague, Czech Republic, your Historical Committee was very busy working on a variety of issues.

While many of us enjoyed the superb educational offerings of the meeting several of us were performing interviews of significant SRS members – past presidents, Lifetime Achievement Award winners, and significant influencers in our specialty.  Interviews were done for Randal Betz, MD; Alvin Crawford, MD; Ronald DeWald, MD; Jean Dubousset, MD; John Kostuick, MD; Lawrence Lenke, MD; John Lonstein, MD; James Ogilvie, MD; Acke Ohlin, MD, PhD, and Harry Shufflebarger, MD. It was an honor and privilege to get the interviews of these important surgeons recorded. They are now in the editing process and should be posted to the SRS Archives Website in early 2017.

Speaking of the SRS Archives website, many have noted that they are difficult to find. Here are a step-by-step instructions to help you navigate the website.

1. Visit the SRS website and click the “Member Login” link

2. Log in to your account.

3. Select Online Education

4. Select SRS Archives

5. Enjoy all that the Archives website has to offer!

The SRS physical archives are located at the University of Kansas Medical Center (KUMC).  

If you attended the Opening Ceremonies of the Annual Meeting & Course you witnessed the transfer of a preserved spinal specimen with Harrington Rods. This specimen was donated to the Harrington Archives by Dr. Piet Van Loon.

Additionally, Evalina Burger has graciously decided to donate her collection of the original Prof. Dommisse slides and notes on spinal cord blood supply to the SRS Archives.

If you have any items that you feel would be meaningful additions to the SRS Archives, please contact Ashtin in the SRS office, The Harrington Archives and Blount Archives are also located at KUMC.

The committee looks forward to continuing to preserve the history of our Society and the field of spine deformity.

Chair: George H. Thompson, MD Committee: Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD; Jason E. Lowenstein, MD; Terry D. Amaral, MD; Alejo Vernengo-Lezica, MD; Patricia N. Kostial, BSN, RN; Jay Shapiro, MD; Hani Mhaidli, MD, PhD