December 2017

Awards & Scholarships Committee Update

M. Timothy Hresko, MD
Awards & Scholarships Committee Chair

The SRS Award Committee recently reviewed applications for the SRS Traveling Fellows from outside of North America. The award is open for SRS members and Candidate members less than 45 years old for visitation to North American spine centers. The Senior Traveling Fellow for 2018 is Dr. Francisco J. Sanchez Perez-Grueso of Madrid. Twelve very accomplished young members from Europe, Asia, and South America submitted applications with supporting letters of recommendation from SRS members. The recipients for 2018 are Kariman Abelin Genevois, Kai Cao, and ZeZhang Zhu. We congratulate the recipients and encourage future applicants from North American to apply for the 2019 Traveling Fellowship.

Visit to apply between January 1, 2018-March 1, 2018 for:

For SRS Candidate Members 45 Years Old or Younger
Edgar Dawson Traveling Fellowship
Eduardo R. Luque Memorial Scholarship

For International Surgeons Not Residing in North America
Robert B. Winter Global Outreach Fellowship
Global (GOP) Traveling Fellowship
OrthoPediatrics International Pediatric Spine Fellowship
Asia-Pacific Spinal Deformity Scholarship Program
Global Outreach Program (GOP) Educational Scholarship
Fikry MENA Scholarship

For Residents or Fellows
OrthoPediatrics SRS Annual Meeting/IMAST Scholarship for Residents and Fellows (North American)

Member Recognition Awards
SRS Lifetime Achievement Award
Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award


Chair: Michael T. Hresko Committee: Jeffrey S. Kanel, Past Chair; John M. Wattenbarger, Global Outreach; Gregory M. Mundis, Program; Leah Y. Carreon, Research; Frank LaMarca; Stefan Parent; Surya Prakash Rao Voleti; Gustavo BL Azevedo (C); Alderico G. Campos de Barros (C); Dong-Gune Chang (C); Dean Chou (C); Mohsen Karami (C); Raphael M. Marcon (C); Joshua Murphy (C); Saba Pasha (C); Ajoy P. Shetty (C); Qianyu Zhuang (C); Matthew E. Cunningham, Chair Elect; Hak-Sun Kim; Cristina Sacramento Dominguez; Jianxiong Shen; Anthony S. Rinella; Alpaslan Senkoylu; Suken A. Shah; Burt Yaszay