December 2018

Worldwide Course Committee Update

Benny T. Dahl, MD, PhD, DMSci
Worldwide Course Committee Chair

The three main activities for the Worldwide Course Committee continues to be the traditional Worldwide Courses (WWC), the Current Concepts in Spine Deformity Courses (CCSD) and the Hands-On Courses (HOC).

Since the last newsletter a very successful traditional WWC course was held in Beijing in June, confirming the commitment of the SRS to maintain a close relationship to the Chinese spine community.

In August a CCSD was held in Buenos Aires, Argentina in collaboration with the Argentine Society of Pathology of the Vertebral Column (SAPCV). The course was very successful with more than 200 attendees.

The second HOC of the year was held in Hong Kong in September and was as usual very well attended with positive feed-back from both faculty and attendees.

During the Annual Meeting in Bologna, Italy the meeting in the WWC committee was very well attended with a through dialogue about the future activities of the committee. There was general agreement that the ongoing work with the core curriculum of the SRS should be implemented in future courses. New members of the committee were welcomed and Dr. Saumyajit Basu from Kolkata, India was unanimously confirmed as chair elect of the WWC, taking over as chair in relation to the Annual Meeting in Montreal, Canada in September 2019.

In 2019 the first combined Current Concepts in Spine Deformity and Hands-On Course is planned to take place in Istanbul, Turkey May 8-11. This initiative is based on feed-back from the attendees on previous Hands-on-courses and the organizers have done an impressive job combining these two types of courses.

The additional activities in 2019 include courses in India, Mexico, Barcelona, and Japan confirming that the WWC is continuously working to support the mission of SRS as being the international leading society in the spinal deformity community.


Chair: Benny T. Dahl Committee: Morio Matsumoto; Firoz Miyanji; Yat Wa Wong; Burt Yaszay, Education; J. Michael Wattenbarger, Global Outreach; Dean Chou (C); Alexandre F. Cristante (C); Mohammadresza Etemadifar (C); D. Kojo Hamilton (C); Manish K. Kasliwal (C); Deniz Konya (C); Robert S. Lee (C); Jonathan N. Sembrano (C); Kwadwo Poku Yankey (C); Feng Zhu (C); Saumyajit Basu, Chair Elect; Steven M. Mardjetko; Martin Repko; John A.I. Ferguson; Hossein Mehdian; Timothy S. Oswald