December 2020

Fellowship Committee Update

Jeffrey D. Coe, MD
Fellowship Committee Chair

In this challenging year I am truly honored to have assumed the Chairmanship of the Fellowship Committee beginning at the Virtual Annual Meeting last fall, taking the reins from Baron Lonner. The Committee would like to thank Baron as well as SRS Membership Manager, Alysha Chapman, who together did a superb job of steering the Committee this past year. We also welcome Jwalant Mehta from Birmingham, England to our Committee having been elected to the Fellowship Committee at this past Annual Meeting!  Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, the state of our Society’s membership remains strong. We have 752 Active members, 322 Candidate members, 78 Associate, 291 Emeritus, and 8 Honorary members. A total of 74 Active members were admitted to the SRS over the past year including  41 International members outside of the United States for a total of 515 international members from 64 countries, for a total of 35% of the overall membership of 1,454, truly reflecting the global scope of our society.

Throughout the last several years, membership requirements have been modified to allow for a more efficient application process, now exclusively on-line, for admission of deserving candidates in order to fulfill leadership’s desire to maintain a vibrant and growing society.  The minimum candidacy period is now three years instead of five.  The other requirements have been simplified as well.  See details by following this link,  For 2021, in addition to biannual vetting of new applicants for our society, the Fellowship Committee has been charged with reevaluating the processes for more experienced senior deformity surgeons to become members of our Society.

We would like to welcome the following new members to our Society:

New Active Members

  • Meric Enercan, MD, Istanbul, Turkey
  • J. Naresh-Babu, MS, FNB, Guntur, India
  • Gabriel Piza Vallespir, MD, PhD, Santa Eugenia, Spain
  • Cheerag D. Upadhyaya, MD, MSc, Kansas City, MO, United States
  • Chris Yin Wei Chan, MS Orth, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Eugenio Dema, MD, Modena, Italy
  • Michael P. Glotzbecker, MD, Boston, MA, United States
  • Stuart H. Hershman, MD, Boston, MA, United States
  • David E. Lebel, MD, PhD, Toronto, Canada
  • Kristopher M. Lundine, MD MSc FRCSC FRACS, Mount Eliza, VIC, Australia
  • Timothy P. McHenry, MD, Greenville, SC, United States
  • Peter G. Passias, MD, Brooklyn, NY, United States
  • Andrea Piazzolla, MD, Bari, Italy
  • Suresh Sivadasan Pillai, MS, DNB, Calicut, India
  • Rolf B. Riise, MD, Krakeroy, Norway
  • Monchai Ruangchainikom, MD, Bangkok, Thailand
  • Andrew A. Sama, MD, New York, NY, United States
  • Jason W. Savage, MD, Gates Mills, OH, United States
  • ZeZhang Zhu, MD, PhD, Nanjing, Peoples Republic of China
  • Kariman Abelin-Genevois, MD, PhD, Lyon, France
  • Christof Birkenmaier, MD, Munich, Germany
  • Kai Cao, MD, PhD, Nanchang, Peoples Republic of China
  • John M. Caridi, MD, New York, NY, United States
  • Nelson R. Carvalho, MD, Lisboa, Portugal
  • Alexandre Fogaça Cristante, MD, PhD, Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Romain Dayer, MD, Genève, Switzerland
  • Haruki Funao, MD, PhD, Tokyo, Japan
  • Pawel Grabala, MD, Bialystok, Poland
  • D. Kojo Hamilton, MD, FAANS, Pittsburgh, PA, United States
  • Christina K. Hardesty, MD, Cleveland, OH, United States
  • Moyo C. Kruyt, MD, PhD, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Olavo Biraghi Letaif, MD, MSc, Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Raphael Martus Marcon, MD, PhD, Sao Paulo - SP, , Brazil
  • Kathryn McCarthy Mullooly, MD, Little Rock, AR, United States
  • Luiz Müller Avila, MD, Curitiba, Brazil
  • Scott C. Nelson, MD, Loma Linda, CA, United States
  • Elizabeth P. Norheim, MD, Downey, CA, United States
  • Saba Pasha, PhD, MS, Philadelphia, PA, United States
  • Javier Pizones, MD, PhD, Madrid, Spain
  • Anuj Singla, MD, Charlottesville, VA, United States
  • Vidyadhar V. Upasani, MD, San Diego, CA, United States
  • William F. Young Jr., MD, Fort Wayne, IN, United States
  • Dong-Gune Chang, MD, PhD, Seoul, Korea
  • Jason Pui Yin Cheung, MBBS (HK), Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Bassel G. Diebo, MD, New York, NY, United States
  • Geoffrey F. Haft, Sioux Falls, SD, United States
  • Yashar Javidan, MD, Sacramento, CA, United States
  • Takashi Kaito, MD, PhD, Suita, Japan
  • Isaac O. Karikari, MD, Raleigh, NC, United States
  • Christopher J. Kleck, MD, Aurora, CO, United States
  • Kenny Kwan, BMBCh(Oxon), FRCSEd, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Amy L. McIntosh, MD, Dallas, TX, United States
  • Janez Mohar, MD, PhD, Ankaran, Slovenia
  • Robert F. Murphy, MD, Charleston, SC, United States
  • Yutaka Nakamura, MD, Saitama, Japan
  • Stefano Negrini, MD, Milano, Italy
  • Selina C. Poon, MD, Pasadena, CA, United States
  • Reuben CC Soh, MBBS, MMedOrth, FRCS, Singapore, Singapore
  • Shiau-Tzu Tzeng, MD, New Taipei City, Taiwan
  • Caglar Yilgor, MD, Istanbul, Turkey
  • Ioannis Avramis, MD, Plano, TX, United States
  • Theodore Andrew Belanger, MD, Rockwall, TX, United States
  • Jae Hwan Cho, MD, PhD, Seoul, AE, Korea
  • Sabrina Donzelli, MD, Milano, Italy
  • Michael J. Hartman, MD, Goshen, IN, United States
  • Kristen E. Jones, MD, Minneapolis, MN, United States
  • Manish K. Kasliwal, MD, MCh, FAANS, Cleveland, OH, United States
  • Aroldo Carlos Legarreta, MD, Capital Federal, , Argentina
  • Zeeshan M. Sardar, MD, New York, NY, United States
  • Ajoy Prasad Shetty, MS Orth, Coimbatore, India
  • Byron F. Stephens, MD, Nashville, TN, United States
  • Dominick A. Tuason, MD, Trenton, NJ, United States
  • Qianyu Zhuang, MD, Beijing, Peoples Republic of China

New Associate Members

  • Dennis P. Devito, Atlanta, GA, United States
  • Walid Osman, Sr., MD, Cité Erriadh, Tunisia
  • Barend J. Van Royen, MD PhD, Heemstede, Netherlands
  • John K. Birknes, MD, Norfolk, VA, United States
  • Juan Antonio Martin-Benlloch, MD, Valencia, Spain

Members Moved to Emeritus Status

  • Michael Ain, MD
  • Allen Carl, MD
  • Samuel J. Chewning Jr., MD
  • Jean Dansereau, PhD
  • David Hanscome, MD
  • Nosrat Javidan, MD
  • Reginald Knight, MD
  • Rex Marco, MD
  • George Miz, MD
  • Joji Mochida, MD
  • Yoshinori Nakata, MD
  • Francisco Javier Sanchez Perez-Grueso Sr, MD
  • V. James Raso, MASc
  • Kit M. Song, MD, MHA
  • Rudolph Taddonio, MD
  • Vernon T. Tolo, MD

In 2020, in an effort to be more globally conscious after a comprehensive research and review process performed under the leadership of Past Chair Baron Lonner, the Fellowship Committee recommended that the SRS adjusted the dues rates of reduced rate countries which was approved by the SRS Board and Presidential Line.  These new rates based on the world bank scale are now in effect, please click here. I look forward to serving this term with my co-committee members, Baron S. Lonner, Past Chair; Matthew E. Oetgen, Chair Elect; Darrell S. Hanson; Brian G. Smith and Jwalant Mehta. We look forward to vetting many new potential members on behalf of the SRS.


Chair: Jeffrey D. Coe Committee: Baron S. Lonner, Past Chair; Matthew Oetgen, Chair Elect; Darrell S. Hanson; Brian G. Smith; Jwalant Mehta