December 2021

Podcast Committee

Jaysson Brooks
Podcast Committee Chair

During the SRS Annual Meeting in September 2021, the Podcast Task Force was moved to Committee status and I have the privilege of being its first Chair. I would first like to thank Ron El-Hawary for his leadership and mentorship as Chair of the previous Task Force. Ron organized us into a team that has grown tremendously to include an amazing group of podcast co-hosts: Kariman Abelin-Genevois, Charla Fischer, Ryan Fitzgerald, Jeffrey Mullin, Cynthia Nguyen, Masood Shafafy, and John Vorhies.

The diversity of podcast topics is secondary to the diversity of our podcast co-hosts who hail from both inside and outside the U.S. and include pediatric and adult spine surgeons, and neurosurgeons. The work of this Podcast committee and taskforce during the past year has been extraordinary and substantial thank you! And finally, heart-felt gratitude to the guests we’ve had on this year’s 23 podcast episodes.

What’s in store for 2022?

We have many new topics and guests coming in 2022. One of the topics I’m most excited for is Women’s Heritage Month where we get to learn more about the female spine surgeons in SRS who have truly changed our field. In addition, I’m excited about episodes highlighting the research agenda for SRS and the SRS Traveling Fellowship which should be restarting soon.

We will also be posting the podcast episodes on SRS’s YouTube channel to gain additional listenership and hopefully encourage those watching to share via social platforms. And finally, look for new music for the podcast’s intro and outro in 2022.

We know many of our membership are musically inclined if you are interested, please submit a recording of yourself playing your instrument to (submissions should be at least one minute long).

Thank you to everyone who has listened to Scoliosis Dialogues: An SRS Podcast this past year. We hope to bring you new and exciting content in upcoming year. If you have any ideas for topics, please submit your recommendations to

Podcast committee: Kariman Abelin-Genevois, Chair Elect, Jeffrey Mullin, Masood Shafafy, Charla Fischer, Ryan Fitzgerald, Cynthia Nguyen, John Vorhies