June 2016

Awards and Scholarships Committee Update

Ian J. Harding, BA, FRCS (Orth)
Awards & Scholarships Committee Chair

The Awards and Scholarships Committee has been busy assessing and offering the majority of the awards offered by SRS including the Lifetime Achievement and Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Awards as well as the Edgar G. Dawson, Eduardo R. Luque, Robert B. Winter, Global Outreach Program and OrthoPediatrics fellowships/scholarships. The geographical spread of awards was truly worldwide and the applications were numerous (130) and strong.

A new Asia-Pacific Scholarship has been kindly funded by Depuy-Synthes and is to be awarded in the coming weeks along with a second Medtronic award towards spinal research. Please help spread the news of the amazing opportunity the Asia-Pacific Scholarship provides. Two promising young surgeons will participate in a year-long fellowship with three-to-four SRS hosts to optimize their education, knowledge, clinical research acumen and technical skills in the field. Individuals may apply here,

Further sponsorships towards awards have kindly been received from NuVasive and Globus Medical. The committee will meet at the Annual Meeting & Course in Prague and decide how best to allocate these funds in the future.

Lifetime Achievement Award

John E. Lonstein, MD  – (USA) Twin Cities Spine Center/Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare,  Minneapolis, Minnesota

Harry L. Shufflebarger, MD  – (USA) Nicklaus Children’s Hospital, Miami, Florida

Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award

David Spiegel, MD – (USA) Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Edgar G. Dawson Fellowship

Jeffrey L. Gum, MD – (USA) Norton Leatherman Spine Center, Louisville, Kentucky

Steven W. Hwang, MD – (USA) Shriner’s Hospital for Children, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Cheerag D. Upadhyaya, MD – (USA) St. Luke’s Marion Bloch Neuroscience Center, Kansas City, Missouri

Robert B. Winter Global Outreach Fellowship

Shashidhar Bangalore Kantharajanna, MD  – (India) Vydehi Institute of Medical Sciences, Bengaluru

SRS Medtronic Research Fellowship

So Kato, MD – (Canada) Toronto Western Hospital, Toronto, Ontario

SRS Traveling Fellows 2016

Brice Ilharreborde, MD, PhD – (France) Robert Debré Hospital, Paris

Bangping Qian, MD – (China) Drum Tower Hospital, Nanjing

Kota Watanabe, MD, PhD  – (Japan) Keio University, Tokyo

Keith D K  Luk, MD* – (China) The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

*senior traveling fellow

Complete list of 2016 Winners

The SRS Travelling Fellows, under the guidance of Professor Keith Luk will be traveling around North America in June and July. Please welcome them on their travels or follow along with the social media hashtag #SRSTravelingFellows.

June 21 – June 25: Rady Children’s Hospital and Scripps Health - San Diego

June 25 – June 30: SickKid’s Hospital, Sunnybrook Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital, and University of Toronto- Toronto

June 30 – July 6: Columbia University Medical Center, Allen Hospital - New York City

July 6 – July 13: University of Pennsylvania, Thomas Jefferson University, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia - Philadelphia

Chair: Ian J. Harding, BA, FRCS (Orth) Committee: Hani Mhaidli, MD, PhD; Ferran Pellisé Urquiza, MD, PhD; Justin S. Smith, MD, PhD; Michael Rosner, MD; Hooman M. Melamed, MD; Jochen P. Son-Hing, MD, FRCSC; Theodore A. Wagner, MD; Elias Dakwar, MD; Ozgur Dede, MD; Ketan S. Khurjekar, MS, DNB, MCH; Ibrahim A. Omeis, MD; Hui-Ren Tao, MD, PhD; Jeffrey S. Kanel, MD; Kan Min, MD; Ram Mudiyam, MD, MBA; Russ P. Nockels, MD; Michael T. Hresko, MD; Frank LaMarca, MD; Surya Prakash Rao Voleti, MS, DNB; Stefan Parent, MD, PhD