June 2016

Education Committee Update

Theodore T. Choma, MD
Education Committee Chair

The Education Committee has been hard at work developing the educational programs (Pre-Meeting Course, Half-Day Courses, and Lunchtime Symposia) for the upcoming Annual Meeting & Course in Prague this September.  With the input of the Presidential Line and the Education Committee, we believe we have educational offerings that will be of interest to all members. 

As a bit of a preview, the theme for the 2016 Pre-Meeting Course will be “Risk Stratification in Deformity Surgery-An Evidence Based Approach”.  We believe that this will be a timely and engaging Pre-Meeting Course with perspectives from different continents, a review of current data on predictors of optimal and suboptimal surgical outcomes, and special foci on pediatric and adult deformity patients. 

We also anticipate an engaging set of Half-Day Courses and Lunchtime Symposia during our meeting in Prague, including treatments of adult deformity, the most impactful recently published papers on spinal deformity, and effecting change in healthcare organizations.  We will also have updates from our Research Grants Committee and the Global Outreach Committee will address safety and value in international spine deformity care.  All in all, we are gratified by the interest and effort our SRS fellows have demonstrated in creating a timely and engaging educational offering during our annual meeting. 

Thanks also to the SRS members who have submitted proposals to the AAOS for ICL’s and symposia.  We await their decisions and will certainly inform the membership of items of interest that may be planned for the AAOS annual meeting coming in 2017. 

I wish to extend a personal thank you to Courtney Kissinger, Senior Education Manager, for all of her hard work and guidance as we seek to continue the legacy of educational excellence of this Society. 

Chair: Theodore T. Choma, MD Committee: Sigurd H. Berven, MD; Justin S. Smith, MD, PhD; Lawrence L. Haber, MD; Mark Weidenbaum, MD; Marinus de Kleuver, MD, PhD; Eric J. Belin, MD; Santiago T. Bosio, MD; Kai Cao, MD, PhD; Jonathan J. Carmouche, MD; Scott C. Nelson, MD; Naveed Yasin, FRCS (Tr & Ortho); Nathan H. Lebwohl, MD; Praveen Mummaneni, MD; Maria Cristina Sacramento Dominguez, MD, PhD; S. Rajasekaran, MD, FRCS, MCh; Richard H. Gross, MD; Yan Wang, MD; Charles H. Crawford III, MD; Paul T. Rubery    , MD; Suken A. Shah, MD