June 2016

Worldwide Courses Update

Marinus de Kleuver, MD, PhD
Worldwide Course Committee Chair

Looking back at 2015:
2015 was a very busy year for the Worldwide Courses (WWC) with seven conferences around the world.

The WWC is proud to co-organize six conferences in 2016. These conferences are an integral part of the SRS educational efforts across the globe, and are a sign of our commitment to foster optimal care for spinal deformity patients globally.

For more information please visit

2016 Worldwide Course Locations and Dates

Recent conferences

April 8, 2016: England, Nottingham
A half day course in Nottingham, at BritSpine was hosted by Hossein Mehdian, MD, FRCS(Ed) and Nasir Quraishi, FRCS and co-chaired by Benny Dahl, MD, PhD, DMSci

April 9-10, 2016: China, Nanjing
A day and a half course in Nanjing, in conjunction with the Chinese SRS, and hosted by Qiu Yong, MD. The event went very well, with lectures given by Chinese and international faculty to a large audience, with excellent interaction and discussion.

May 27-28, 2016: Moscow, Russia
A two day course intograted with the Russian Association of Spine Surgeon and co-chaired by Sergey Kolesov, MD, PhD and David Clement, MD.

Future events

  • Bali, Indonesia – August 11-12, 2016
  • Vina del Mar, Chile – November 16-17, 2016
  • Kyoto, Japan – November 17-19, 2016

Educational Task Force:

The SRS Board of Directors has set up an educational task force to look at our worldwide education. One of the aims is to develop a curriculum that we can use as a framework for all worldwide courses.  Several committee members are closely involved.

Our committee is working hard to disseminate the knowledge of spinal deformity all around the world and we are hoping to develop new projects and improve our global educational activities for our Society’s mission to foster optimal care for spinal deformity patients globally.

Chair: Marinus de Kleuver, MD, PhD Committee: Ferran Pellisé Urquiza, MD, PhD; Theodore T. Choma, MD; Saumyajit Basu, MD; Laurel C. Blakemore, MD; Alpaslan Senkoylu, MD; Ravi S. Bains, MD; Ibrahim Obeid, MD; Martin Repko, MD, PhD; Ahmed M. Shawky, MD, PhD; Anuj Singla, MD; Senthilnathan Thirugnana, MBBS, MS (Ortho); Zezhang Zhu, MD, PhD; Benny T. Dahl, MD, PhD, DMSci; Luis E. Munhoz da Rocha, MD; Yong Qiu, MD;Haluk R. Berk, MD; David S. Marks, FRCS; Rajiv K. Sethi, MD