June 2017

Awards and Scholarships Committee Update

Jeffrey S. Kanel, MD
Awards and Scholarships Committee Chair

The Awards and Scholarships Committee has been busy assessing and offering the majority of the awards offered by SRS. These include the Lifetime Achievement and Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Awards as well as the Edgar G. Dawson, Eduardo R. Luque, Robert B Winter, Fikry-MENA, Global Outreach Program and OrthoPediatrics fellowships/scholarships. The geographical spread of awards was truly worldwide and the applications were numerous (185) and strong.

Please join us throughout the year in congratulating our award winners!

Lifetime Achievement Award

G. Dean MacEwen, MD – (USA) New Castle, Delaware

Howard H. Steel, MD – (USA) Villanova, Pennsylvania

Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award

Kenneth J. Paonessa, MD – (USA) Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Edgar G. Dawson Fellowship

John M. Caridi, MD – (USA) Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, New York

Manish K. Kasliwal, MD, MCh – (USA) Shriner’s Hospital for Children, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Jonathan N. Sembrano, MD – (USA) University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Anuj Singla, MD – (USA) University of Virginia Health System, Charlottesville, Virginia

Robert B. Winter Global Outreach Fellowship

Nam QD Vo, MD, PhD – (Vietnam) Hospital for Trauma, Ho Chi Minh City

SRS Traveling Fellows 2017

Samuel K. Cho, MD – (US) Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York

Han Jo Kim, MD – (US) Hospital for Special Surgery, New York

Joshua M. Pahys, MD  – (US) Shriners Hospital for Children, Philadelphia

Richard E. McCarthy, MD* – (US) Arkansas Children's Hospital, Little Rock

*senior traveling fellow

Complete list of 2017 Winners

The SRS Traveling Fellows, under the guidance of Dr. Richard McCarthy, traveled around Europe last month. Please take a look at some of their visits on the SRS Facebook or by searching #SRSTravelingFellows on social media outlets. We look forward to hearing their report in Philadelphia at the Annual Meeting.

Chair: Jeffrey S. Kanel, MD Committee: Ian J. Harding, BA, FRCS (Orth); Kan Min, MD; Ram Mudiyam, MD, MBA; Russ P. Nockels, MD; Ferran Pellisé, MD, PhD; Patrick J. Cahill, MD; Muharrem Yazici, MD; Abdul Rakib Al-Mirah, MD; Dong-Gune Chang, MD, PhD; Hamid Hassanzadeh, MD; Ajay R. Kothari, MD; Ahmed Salem Mohamed, MD; Bangping Qian, MD; Reuben CC Soh, MBBS, MMedOrth, FRCS; Michael T. Hresko, MD; Frank La Marca, MD; Surya Prakash Rao Voleti, MS, DNB; Stefan Parent, MD, PhD; Matthew E. Cunningham, MD, PhD; Hak-Sun Kim, MD; Cristina Sacramento Dominguez, MD, PhD; Jianxiong Shen, MD