June 2017

Education Committee Update

Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD
Education Committee Chair

The Education Committee is responsible for the educational programs (Pre-Meeting Course, Half-Day Courses, and Lunchtime Symposia) at the Annual Meeting & Course. The feedback received from the program at the 51st Annual Meeting in Prague was reviewed and the educational programs for the 52nd Annual Meeting in Philadelphia have been planned. We thank the Education Council Chair, John Dimar, MD as well as our president, Kenneth MC Cheung, MD for their guidance with the program. The theme for the 52nd Annual Meeting's Pre-Meeting Course is: “A Multidisciplinary Approach to Global Spine Care”. Speakers will include thought leaders from the SRS as well as invited speakers from other specialties including cardiology, pulmonology, and anesthesiology to discuss the nuances of pre-op, intra-op, and post-op multidisciplinary management of adult and pediatric patients with spinal deformity. The topics for the Half Day Courses for the 52nd Annual Meeting are: Growth Friendly Techniques for Early Onset Scoliosis, MIS Spinal Surgery, and Spinal Alignment.

The topics for the Lunchtime Symposia include: Developing Your Academic Footprint, Intra-spinal Anomalies and Spine Deformity, Non-operative Treatment of Adult Spinal Deformity, SRS GOP Mission Trips, Research Grant Outcomes, and Adult Spinal Deformity for Early Career Deformity Surgeons.

The Educational Committee is also interfacing with other organizations such as AAOS, AOSpine (Global Spine Congress), EUROSPINE, FOSA, and the AANS-CNS Joint Spine Section for co-branded offerings.  We have recruited several individuals to help with these efforts including Sigurd Berven, MD; Michael Daubs, MD; Marinus de Kleuver MD, PhD; Benny Dahl, MD, Suken Shah, MD, and Juan Uribe, MD. I wish to extend a personal thank you to Courtney Kissinger – our Senior Education Manager- for all of her hard work and guidance. 

Chair: Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD Committee: Theodore Choma, MD; Muharram Yazici, MD, PhD; David Clements, MD; Nathan Lebwohl, MD; Maria C. Sacramento Dominguez, MD; Kariman Abelin-Genevois, MD; Santiago T. Bosio, MD; Robert H. Cho, MD; Robert H. Karikari, MD; Olavo Letaif, MD; Ripul Panchal, MD; Paul Park, MD; Scott Russo, MD; Jason Savage, MD; S. Rajasekaran, MD, FRCS, MCh, PhD; Richard H. Gross, MD; Yan Wang, MD; Charles H. Crawford III, MD; Paul T. Rubery, MD; Suken A. Shah​, MD; Benny T. Dahl, MD; Marco Brayda-Bruno, MD; Michael Daubs, MD