June 2019

Awards & Scholarships Committee Update

Matthew E. Cunningham, MD, PhD
Awards & Scholarships Committee Chair

The members of the Awards and Scholarship Committee have had a very busy year. In the fall, the committee reviewed the applications of multiple extremely qualified North American Traveling Fellowship applicants. The top three were chosen to be the 2019 SRS travelling fellows, who will be accompanied by George Thomson, MD as the Senior Fellow on their visits of several international host sites. During the spring, we meticulously reviewed almost 120 applications for the multiple awards and scholarships that were announced in April.

Please join us throughout the year in congratulating our award winners!

SRS Lifetime Achievement Award
Juergen Harms, Heidelberg, Germany
Alberto Ponte, Torino, Italy

Walter P. Blount Humanitarian Award
Theodore Wagner, Seattle, WA

SRS 2019 Traveling Fellows
Addisu Mesfin, Rochester, NY
Gregory Mundis, San Diego, CA
John Caridi, New York, NY

Robert B. Winter Global Outreach Fellowship
Ankit S. Patel, Vasai-West, India

Eduardo R. Luque Award
Alexandre Fogaça Cristante, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Global Outreach Program (GOP) Visiting Fellowship
Mandar D. Borde, Pune, India
Nitesh Gahlot, Rajasthan, India
Anne Kathleen B. Ganal-Antonio, Pasig City, Philippines
Nikhil Malewar, Nagpur, India
Abhinandan Mallepally, Vasanth Kunj, India
Najmus Sakeb, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Click here for a complete list of 2019 winners.


Chair: Matthew E. Cunningham Committee: Michael T. Hresko, Past Chair; John M. Wattenbarger, Global Outreach; Firoz Miyanji, Program; Hak-Sun Kim; Cristina Sacramento Dominguez; Jianxiong Shen; Nelson Astur (C); Dong-Gune Chang (C); Nick Sekouris (C); Ajoy P. Shetty (C); Anuj Singla (C); ZeZhang Zhu (C); Mohammed Mossaad (E); Anthony S. Rinella; Alpaslan Senkoylu, Chair Elect; Suken A. Shah; Burt Yaszay; Kenneth J. Paonessa; Joseph H. Perra; David H. Clements, III; Hee Kit Wong