June 2019

Fellowship Committee Update

Michelle S. Caird, MD
Fellowship Committee Chair

The Committee thoroughly reviews Candidate, Associate and Active applications twice a year providing their recommendations to the Board of Directors (BOD) for final approval at the September and March BOD meetings. Our Fellowship continues to grow at a gradual pace with very enthusiastic and qualified individuals. We are pleased to announce our new 2019 Fellows.

Candidate Members (44)

  • William Accousti, MD
  • Yunus Emre Akman, MD
  • Harry Akoto, MD
  • Akif Albayrak
  • Joshua Bunch, MD
  • Alejandro Dabaghi Richerand
  • Hamish Deverall, FRACS
  • Pablo J. Diaz-collado, MD
  • Arjun Dhawale, MD
  • Gilbert Shawn Duxbury, MD
  • Benjamin Daniel Elder, MD, PhD
  • Ryan E. Fitzgerald, MD
  • Stephen G. George, Jr., MD
  • Lars Valentin Hansen, MD
  • Ali Humadi, MB, ChB, FRACS
  • Kenneth D. Illingworth, MD
  • Amit Jain, MD
  • Ehsan Jazini, MD
  • Amrit S. Khalsa, MD
  • Joseph L. Laratta, MD
  • David Lazarus, MD
  • Luke Macyszyn, MD
  • Daniel J. Miller, MD
  • R. Justin Mistovich, MD
  • Martin J. Morrison III, MD
  • Jeffrey Paul Mullin, MD
  • Naveed Nabizadeh, MD
  • Luigi A. Nasto, MD, PhD
  • Abhay Nene, MD
  • Brian J. Neuman, MD,
  • Peter Obid, MD
  • Mark Oppenlander, MD
  • Nicolas Plais, MD
  • Pooria Salari, MD
  • Samer Samy, MD, PhD
  • Jared J. Seale, Little Rock, AR
  • Julieanne P. Sees, DO, Clifton
  • Takayoshi Shimizu, MD, PhD
  • Alexander A. Theologis, MD
  • Hanneke van West, MD
  • John Vorhies, MD
  • Hai Wang, MD
  • Chase Woodward, MD, MPH

Associate Members (2)

  • Enrico J. Stazzone, MD
  • Yousef Ghandour, PT, MOMT, FAAOMPT

We would also like to draw special attention to the new Active Fellows who have completed the five–year process to become voting members.

New Active Fellows (23)

  • Allan C. Beebe, MD
  • Donald J. Blaskiewicz, MD
  • Shane Burch, MD, FRCS(C)
  • Paul C. Celestre, MD
  • Benjamin R. Cohen, MD, FAANS, FACS
  • Satoru Demura, MD
  • Mazda Farshad, MD, MPH
  • Alberto O. Gotfryd, MD, PhD
  • Michael B. Johnson, MD
  • Mun Keong Kwan, MBBS, MS Orth
  • Robert S. Lee, BSc, MBBS, MRCS,FRCS
  • Addisu Mesfin, MD
  • Ryan D. Muchow, MD
  • Hideki Murakami, MD, PhD
  • Ibrahim Obeid, MD
  • Roger K. Owens II, MD
  • Miguel H. Puigdevall, MD
  • Brandon A. Ramo, MD
  • Shoji Seki, MD, PhD
  • Masood Shafafy, FRCS(Orth)
  • Fernando Techy, MD
  • Patrick B. Wright, MD
  • Jim A. Youssef, MD

Emeritus Fellows (17):

  • Mark A. Barry, MD
  • Ernesto S. Bersusky, MD
  • John Burkus, MD
  • Cody Bünger, MD, DMSc, R, Prof
  • Charles d'Amato, MD, FRCSC
  • Douglas M. Hedden, MD
  • Gregory A. Hoffman, MD
  • Kamal N. Ibrahim, MD, FRCS(C), MA
  • Roger P. Jackson, MD
  • Thomas A. Kula Jr. MD
  • Hossein Mehdian, MD, FRCS(Ed)
  • Daniel Murrey, MD
  • Ian W. Nelson, MBBS, FRCS,MCh(Orth)
  • Yutaka Nohara
  • Edward H. Saer, III, MD
  • Ensor E. Transfeldt, MD
  • H. Randal Woodward, MD

Membership Statistics

We are very happy with the continual growth of SRS membership. We currently have 1369 Fellows from 64 different counties. Every year we have an increase of members from outside of the North America and with the 2019 new members 34% of our membership is from outside the United States.

If you know of someone who would be a great addition to SRS please make sure to direct them to SRS’s website for more information or have them email Alysha Chapman, Membership Manager at for more information.


Chair: Michelle S. Caird Committee: Youssry El-Hawary, Past Chair; Baron S. Lonner, Chair Elect; Jeffrey D. Coe; Matthew Oetgen