June 2020

CME Committee Update

Samuel K. Cho, MD
CME Committee Chair

The CME committee continues to ensure that our society is in good standing with the ACCME to provide the necessary educational credit to our members at large. We currently have ACCME accreditation with commendation until November, 2022 and can provide CME credit for not only the Annual Meeting and the IMAST, but also various regional meetings, both in-person and virtual, that take place throughout the academic year. Over the past few months, we have been busy with timely review of the educational content for online meetings to ensure compliance with the guidelines established by the ACCME. In addition, the committee has embarked on a mission to utilize some of the available technologies such as the use of QR codes to increase member participation of meeting feedback and reviews with ease. Our hope is to collect the responses in a timely manner to perform appropriate gap analysis and address educational needs in future meetings in coordination with Educational and Program Committees. Recently, we have established a subcommittee to revamp the questionnaires that are sent out to participants immediately following the Annual and other meetings. We have decreased the number of questions and made it much easier for these questions to be answered online and anticipate greater participation from our members in the near future.


Chair: Samuel K. Cho Committee: Peter O. Newton, Past President I; Baron S. Lonner, Education; Ryan C. Goodwin; William F. Lavelle; Anthony M. Petrizzo; John Heydemann (C); Naobumi Hosogane (C); Luke Macyszyn (C); Venu M. Nemani (C); Zeeshan M. Sardar (C); James T. Bennett; Woojin Cho; Praveen V. Mummaneni; Suken A. Shah, Education Council Chair; Steven W. Hwang, Chair Elect; Patricia N. Kostial; Kevin Boon Leong Lim