March 2018

Research Grants Committee Update

Leah Y. Carreon, MD, MSc
Research Grants Committee Chair

Grants awarded in the fall 2017 cycle:


Primary Investigator


Grant Type

Minimize Implants Maximize Outcomes Clinical Trial

A. Noelle Larson, MD


Standard Investigator

Using Ultrasound and Health’ Records to Non-Invasively Identify Cases with Curve Progression or not in Children with AIS

Edmond Lou, PhD, PEng


SRS-NuVasive Standard Investigator

Effect of Controlled Dynamic Spine Distraction on Intervertebral Disc, Growth Plates, Bone Quality and Spine Stiffness; An in Vivo Study on a Rodent Model

Pooria Salari, MD


New Investigator

Prediction of curve progression in idiopathic scoliosis without treatment

Stefano Negrini, MD


SRS-K2M Standard Investigator

Developing a 3D Marker Based Method for Assessing Pulmonary Function in Idiopathic Scoliosis

Kristen Nicholson


New Investigator

Total approved funding: $97,824.00

During the most recent review cycle, a new review scoring and comment process was implemented. While there were some technical issues that occurred (and are being resolved), the new process provided a more even scoring pattern and more detailed comments on each application.

The upcoming application cycle (February 1-April 1) will use the modified application categories. Additionally, an agreement is in negotiation with the Cotrel Foundation to offer a basic science grant during the fall cycle.


Chair: Leah Y. Carreon Committee: Patrick T. Cahill, Past Chair; David F. Antezana; Morio Matsumoto; Vikas V. Patel; Dong-Gune Chang (C); Diana A. Glaser (C); Alexander P. Hughes (C); Charles G.T. Ledonio (C); Jean-Christophe A. Leveque (C); Michelle C. Marks (C); Dominique A. Rothenfluh (C); Hui-Ren Tao (C); Khoi D. Than (C); Feng Zhu (C); Ivan Cheng, Chair Elect; Marcel F. Dvorak; Frank LaMarca; Luis E. Munhoz da Rocha; Virginie Lafage; Jwalant S. Mehta; Robert A. Morgan; Jianxiong Shen; Shay Bess; Theodore J. Choma; James S. Harrop; Lukas P. Zebala; J. Abbott Byrd, Treasurer, Ex Oficio