March 2021

Global Education in Spine Deformity Committee Update

Ahmet Alanay, MD
Global Education in Spine Deformity Committee Chair

This committee, formally known as the Worldwide Course Committee has changed its name to the Global Education in Spine Deformity Committee. It has also formalized separate subcommittees consisting of strategic planners for our three course types: Traditional Worldwide Course (WWC/ambassador courses), Current Concepts in Spine Deformity (CCSD/regional courses), and the Spine Deformity Solutions: A Hands-On Course (HOC/Cadaver Courses.)

Since our last newsletter article in March 2020, the pandemic has had an obvious impact on our educational partnerships and endeavors planned for the remainder of last year as well as 2021. If you recall, the pandemic took center stage for the world just before our CCSD in Brazil, March 2020. Our faculty and hosts produced a fantastic educational opportunity for learners in Florianopolis, but it also served as a timely test-run for SRS faculty participating in live education virtually. This serves as SRS’s first hybrid meeting example. In a way, this Brazil CCSD underscores the flexibility these regional courses have to introduce new concepts and formats before incorporating them in other SRS educational activities like virtual IMAST or our upcoming hybrid Annual Meeting later this year.

SRS partnered with the Chinese Scoliosis Research Society in November 2020 for a virtual Worldwide Course that saw record exposure with 8000+ learners over three weeks across many Chinese provinces and neighboring Asian countries. Though we always enjoy the opportunity to learn in-person with our colleagues in China, the virtual space increased educational reach but also faculty participation with reduced travel costs. We look forward to seeing how technology will play in to our ability to connect and communicate for future courses.

After careful deliberation, the committee has decided to reschedule the June Spine Deformity Solutions: A Hands-On Course in Nijmegen, the Netherlands to October 27-29, 2021. The SRS Hands-On Courses are a unique opportunity for participants to expand their knowledge and improve their skills through hands-on training and interactive discussion. We are excited for the Nijmegen Course in October to be the first SRS Hands-On Course of the year.

The CCSD Subcommittee will be working on bringing a virtual CCSD to a global audience later this year in November. It will cover various topics that align with the SRS Core Curriculum and be delivered on the SRS virtual learning platform. Sessions will be open to view in late summer 2021 so that learners can review at a time convenient to them. The course will culminate in a weekend of live sessions focused on engagement through direct question/answer, small case discussion breakouts, and panels. Look for registration to open in the next few months.

Upcoming Courses:


  • June 3-5: WWC | Nizhny Novgorod, Russia with the Russian Association of Spine Surgeons (RASSS)
  • September 16-17: WWC | Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico with the Asociación Mexicana de Cirujanos de Columna (AMCICO)
  • October 27-29: HOC | Nijmegen, Netherlands
  • November: Global CCSD | virtual*
  • November 18-20: HOC | Singapore


  • January: WWC | Patna, India with the Association of Spine Surgeons of India (ASSI)*
  • CCSD | Chile*
  • CCSD | Warsaw, Poland*


  • CCSD | Taiwan*

*Final dates to be determined

The GESD subcommittees will be meeting in the coming weeks and months to confirm 2022 and 2023 planning. If you are interested in bringing a GESD course to your region, please submit an application form at


Chair: Ahmet Alanay Chair Elect: Saumyajit Basu
Current Concepts in Spine Deformity Subcommittee: Kota Watanabe, Chair; Kariman Abelin-Genevois; Kenneth Cheung; Pawel Grabala; Ibrahim Obeid; Martin Repko; Andre Andujar; Haemish Crawford; Klane White; Alpaslan Senkoylu, Chair Elect
Hands-On Course Subcommittee: Munish Gupta, Chair; Surin Thanapipatsiri; Gabriel Liu; Gregory Mundis; Haluk Berk, Chair Elect
Traditional Worldwide Course Subcommittee: Saumyajit Basu, Chair; Benny T. Dahl; John A.I. Ferguson; Hossein Mehdian; Timothy S. Oswald (C); Jason Cheung (C); Ratko Yurac; Michael S. Chang; Morio Matsumoto; Chris P. Ames, Chair Elect