September 2016

Development Committee Update

Serena S. Hu, MD
Development Committee Chair

The Scoliosis Research Society has long been aware of the strong roots that spine deformity fellowships have provided for spine surgeons worldwide.  Many have gone on to found spine fellowships, multiplying the impact that these training programs have had.  The Development Committee is working to memorialize the “Genealogy” of our members. 

We will be contacting our members who have spine deformity fellowships, both adult and pediatric, US and outside of the US, to help assemble lists of fellows who have completed their fellowships.  Tracking where fellows have gone, to help other fellowships grow, to start their own fellowships, to have busy practices, will result in the development of a “Genealogy Tree” where we can view the many instances of branching and cross-fertilization in our collective experiences.  We hope that this Genealogy Tree will be of interest to the membership, rekindle relationships and also serve as a foundation for challenge grants.

The Development Committee had a very successful fundraising drive for the 50th Anniversary of the Annual Meeting of SRS.  Under John Dimar, MD’s leadership, $250,000 in member donations and over $110,000 was raised by the auction at the Annual Meeting banquet.  Thanks to all for donated the valuable items and unusual and unique experiences as well as to our members who won their bids!

We continue to build our Research, Endowment and Outreach (REO) Fund to enable our Society to plan for future research grants, member activities and international outreach.  Our membership dues and meeting registration only cover about 43% of our operating expenses. While industry support has been very helpful in the past, increasing scrutiny has led to more challenges with this in recent years and may lead to declining support. Thus, to continue our mission, we need to increase our donor support from our dedicated membership.

Chair: Serena S. Hu, MD Committee: John R. Dimar, II, MD; John P. Dormans, MD; Kamal N. Ibrahim, MD, FRCS(C), MA; Paul D. Sponseller, MD, MBA; Robert W. Gaines Jr., MD; Lloyd A. Hey, MD, MS; Jeffrey D. Coe, MD; Steven D. Glassman, MD; John A.I. Ferguson, FRACS; Panagiotis G. Korovessis, MD, PhD; Steven M. Theiss, MD; J. Abbott Byrd III, MD; Dean Chou, MD; Saba Pasha, MD; Hilali H. Noordeen, FRCS