September 2018

IMAST Committee Update

Henry F.H. Halm, MD
IMAST Committee Co-Chair

From July 11-14, 2018 we held our 25th Anniversary International Meeting of Advanced Spine Techniques (IMAST) in Los Angeles, USA, which was again very successful. The meeting was again led by our chair, Ron Lehman and had a total of 676 registered participants.

I personally and in conjunction with the whole IMAST committee would like to thank Ronald A. Lehman Jr., MD for his tremendous work as chairman of IMAST during the last three years.

During the LA meeting we held three focus group meetings with attendees to evaluate what has worked well with the IMAST programs over the last few years and what can be improved upon. The results will be further analyzed and discussed at the IMAST Committee meeting right before the Annual Meeting in Bologna.

For the first time, the IMAST Committee is asking the membership to submit proposals for didactic sessions at the 2019 meeting. An online application will be launched on September 15th on the Members Only page of the website. All members are encouraged to submit their proposals for ICLs, debates, case series, and other sessions that they think would fit well into the 2019 IMAST. Please submit your applications by October 31, 2018.

With the help of Han Jo Kim, MD, IMAST Co-Chairman and SRS President Elect Peter Newton, MD, we anticipate an outstanding venue and program at next year’s IMAST meeting in Amsterdam, Netherlands. This city also has a lot to offer, especially its canals and historic sites. The whole organizing committee looks forward to meeting with you and your families there.


Chair: Ronald A. Lehman, Jr. Co-Chair: Henry F.H. Halm Committee: David H. Clements III (CME), Jeffrey Dean Coe, Yong Hai, Carlos E. Barsotti (C), Charla R. Fischer (C), Haruki Funao (C), Matthew J. Goldstein (C), Han Jo Kim (C), Moyo C. Kruyt (C), Ibrahim A. Omeis (C), Fernando Techy (C), Juan S. Uribe (C), Hossein Mehdian, Stefan Parent, Munish C. Gupta, Michael Ruf, Rick C. Sasso, Rajiv K. Sethi