September 2018

Research Grant Committee Update

Leah Y. Carreon, MD, MSc
Research Grant Committee Chair

The Research Committee reviewed 22 grant applications for the Spring 2018 cycle. A total of $114,503 was approved for seven proposals. Three proposals had $25,000 of funding approved and four proposals received $10,000 of funding. In addition, meetings were held where discussions to create guidelines for both Research Committee members who review the grant applications and for researchers applying for the grants.

Grants awarded in the spring 2018 cycle:

Title of Project


Amt. Approved

Effects of vertebral body tethering on the discs, endplates and facet joints in AIS patients: A 2 year follow-up MRI study

Dr. Caglar Yilgor, MD


Developing a 3D Marker Based Method for Assessing Pulmonary Function in Idiopathic Scoliosis

Prof. Rene Castelein, MD, PhD


Genetic analysis of familial congenital scoliosis

Dr. Dawei Li


Best Practice Guidelines for Non-Operative Care of AIS

Dr. Michael Vitale, MD, MPH


Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Evaluation of Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis (AIS) Patients Who Have Undergone Vertebral Body Tethering (VBT)

Dr. Daniel Hoernschemeyer, MD


Understanding and managing intraoperative neuromonitoring changes during spinal deformity surgery: a prospective observational study based on two clinical sites

Dr. Stephen Lewis


Estimating Minimally Clinically Important Difference in EOSQ-24 using Anchor-Based Approach

Dr. David Roye, Jr., MD



Chair: Leah Y. Carreon Committee: Patrick T. Cahill, Past Chair; David F. Antezana; Morio Matsumoto; Vikas V. Patel; Dong-Gune Chang (C); Diana A. Glaser (C); Alexander P. Hughes (C); Charles G.T. Ledonio (C); Jean-Christophe A. Leveque (C); Michelle C. Marks (C); Dominique A. Rothenfluh (C); Hui-Ren Tao (C); Khoi D. Than (C); Feng Zhu (C); Ivan Cheng, Chair Elect; Marcel F. Dvorak; Frank LaMarca; Luis E. Munhoz da Rocha; Virginie Lafage; Jwalant S. Mehta; Robert A. Morgan; Jianxiong Shen; Shay Bess; Theodore J. Choma; James S. Harrop; Lukas P. Zebala; J. Abbott Byrd III, Treasurer Outcomes Sub-Committee: Leah Carreon, Patrick Cahill, Ivan Cheng, Kathy Blanke