September 2019

Bylaws & Policies Committee Update

Brian Hsu, MD
Bylaws & Policies Committee Chair

After careful consideration and discussion with the Board of Directors, the Bylaws & Policies Committee is proposing the amendments listed below to current SRS Bylaws. Words or sentences to be removed are marked with a red strikethrough; and those to be added are in bold red Italic.

These amendments will be presented to the membership for a vote at the Members’ Business Meeting, at 12:00 on Friday, September 20 in 517A of the Palais des congrès de Montréal in Montréal, Canada.

Please feel free to contact me or Tressa Goulding in the SRS office if you have any questions regarding the proposed amendments.


Brian Hsu, MD
Chair, SRS Bylaws & Policies Committee

Section 4.10   Voting
Each Active Fellow in good standing, and only Active Fellows in good standing, shall be entitled to vote in person, or when available and provided in these Bylaws, via online mechanism, on all matters to be voted on by members of the Society, including, without limitation, electing directors and officers of the Society as provided herein.  Any matter to be decided by a vote of the members of the Society shall, except as otherwise provided in the Illinois Revised Statutes or as expressly provided herein, either be decided by a majority of Active Fellows voting in person at a duly held meeting of Active Fellows at which a quorum is present, or, when available and provided by these Bylaws, by a majority of Active Fellows voting via online mechanism.  Cumulative voting or placing all votes for a particular candidate or a particular issue is prohibited. Whenever within these Bylaws an individual is specified as an Ex-Officio member of a board or committee, said Ex-Officio member shall not have the right to vote as such unless otherwise expressly provided in these Bylaws. 

Section 9.6  Nominating Committee  
The Nominating Committee shall consist of five (5) Active Fellows, the Chairman of which shall be appointed by the President with the approval of the Board of Directors. The four (4) additional members shall be Active Members elected via online vote at each annual meeting of the Society by a majority of the Active Members present at such meeting of the Society who voted.  The term of each member of the Nominating Committee shall be one year, no Fellow may serve two (2) consecutive terms on the Nominating Committee.  The Nominating Committee shall present to the Board of Directors a list of nominees as described in Section 7.2 and otherwise provide recommendations to the Board of Directors with respect to the filling of vacancies in any office or on the Board of Directors.


Chair: Brian Hsu Committee: Evalina L. Burger, Past Chair; Patrick Shih (C); Walter H. Truong (C); John M. Wattenbarger, Chair Elect; Andrew A. Sama; Kevin M. Neal