September 2019

IMAST Committee Update

Henry F.H. Halm, MD
IMAST Committee Chair

We have just concluded the 26th International Meeting of Advanced Spine Techniques (IMAST) in Amsterdam July 17-20, 2019. Attendance was higher than in previous years with more than 722 registered participants – 590 pre-registrations and 132 onsite registrations. The number of 325 non SRS members who attended IMAST was also very high. We had attendees from all over the world with the majority coming from North America (45%), Europe (27%) and Asia/Asia-Pacific (20%).

Innovation and novel techniques were again center points of IMAST with a special interest on navigation/ robotics and growing spine. Different from the year past, we started with four concurrent Cases & Cocktails sessions on Wednesday evening after the Welcome Reception. These sessions were extremely well received. On Thursday and Friday we ran two concurrent sessions, one on adult spine and one on pediatric spine. This format was also well received. We just reviewed the overall evaluation of the meeting with greater than 90% good and excellent ratings in all categories.

I would like to thank the President, Peter Newton, MD, the Board of Directors and SRS Staff as well as Co-Chair, Han Jo Kim, MD, for their continuous support in preparing and organizing a very successful meeting. With Dr. Kim as new Chair and a newly reorganized IMAST Committee, we have already started to prepare next year´s meeting in Athens, Greece.

The 27th IMAST in Athens will feature a program comprised of ICLs, debates, case panels, video techniques sessions, and other innovative sessions on topics such as innovative methods and techniques, surgical techniques, adult degenerative, tethering, robotics, masters’ tips & tricks and more! Make sure to mark your calendar for April 1-4, 2020.

Important notice: With the 2020 meeting time change to April, this means that the Call for Abstracts site has already opened and will be completely separate from the abstract site of the Annual Meeting for the first time. Abstract submissions are due on November 1, 2019.


Chair: Henry F.H. Halm Co-Chair: Han Jo Kim Committee: Ronald A. Lehman, Jr., Past Chair; Hossein Mehdian; Stefan Parent; Paloma Bas Hermida (C); Kai Cao (C); John M. Caridi (C); Paul C. Celestre (C); Chee Kidd Chiu (C); Jeffrey L. Gum (C); Hamid Hassanzadeh (C); Xu Sun (C); Jim A. Youssef (C); Georgios A. Vastardis (C); Munish C. Gupta; Michael Ruf; Samuel K. Cho (CME); Rick C. Sasso; Rajiv K. Sethi; Tyler Koski; Scott J. Luhmann