September 2021

Communications Committee

Yan Wang

Yan Wang, MD
Communications Committee Chair

A crucial task of communication committee is to promote the mission, vision, value and benefits of SRS. 

In this June, we worked with the Research Promotion and Overnight Committee to plan the marketing of 2022. As another significant task is innovating in new methods of communication to SRS global membership and worldwide spinal deformity patients, the communication committee has continued to work consistently over the year with high quality podcasts.

In addition, an SRS Podcast has now published 17 podcasts. These are highlighting the SRS Annual Meeting and IMAST award winners, including several prominent SRS researchers and “Patient Dialogues”. All the podcasts are available on the SRS website, iTunes, and Google Play. 

The SRS social media presence has been getting more attention from the Presidential Line in the past year. Over the last six months, Drs. Brooks and Cho have worked with the Spine Deformity Journal to discuss bringing a weekly update to the SRS social media followers. The Social Media Subcommittee, housed under the Communications Committee, discussed to ask fellow Communications Committee members to assist with reviewing articles and providing social media content so the work could be divvied up to not be too onerous. 

A sincere thank you to co-chair Ron El-Hawary who lead the podcast task force so successfully and the dedicated members of the 2020-2021 Communication Committee: 

Committee: Chair:Yan Wang, VidyaSrinivasa, James S. Harrop, WaelAlkasem (C), Jaysson T. Brooks (C), Jason PY Cheung(C), Jae Hwan Cho (C), Grant D. Hogue (C), Walter H. Truong (C), Vidyadhar V. Upasani (C), Michelle C. Welborn (C), Todd Milbrandt, Karen S. Myung, Hui-Ren Tao, Elias C. Papadopoulous, Jean-Marc Vita, Michael G. Vitale